LISTENER

Mr. G. Trabakoulas

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 16
  • helpful votes
  • 8
  • ratings
  • Stealing Fire

  • How Silicon Valley, the Navy SEALs, and Maverick Scientists Are Revolutionizing the Way We LIve and Work
  • By: Steven Kotler, Jamie Wheal
  • Narrated by: Fred Sanders
  • Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 231
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 195
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 194

The authors of the best-selling Bold and The Rise of Superman explore altered states of consciousness and how they can ignite passion, fuel creativity, and accelerate problem solving, in this groundbreaking book in the vein of Daniel Pink's Drive and Charles Duhigg's Smarter Faster Better.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • The whole book could fit in a chapter

  • By Mr. G. Trabakoulas on 12-10-2017

The whole book could fit in a chapter

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-10-2017

the whole book would fit in the chapter I'm sure the rest was a lot of filler material.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • A World in Disarray

  • American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order
  • By: Richard Haass
  • Narrated by: Dan Woren, Richard Haass
  • Length: 8 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2

Things fall apart; the center cannot hold. The rules, policies, and institutions that have guided the world since World War II have largely run their course. Respect for sovereignty alone cannot uphold order in an age defined by global challenges from terrorism and the spread of nuclear weapons to climate change and cyberspace. Meanwhile, great power rivalry is returning. Weak states pose problems just as confounding as strong ones.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Giorgis

  • By Mr. G. Trabakoulas on 22-07-2017

Giorgis

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-07-2017

it was very biased unfortunately. Obvuoius failures of the Republicans where glossed over and the opposite emphasized. Democratic successes start on a positive and end with criticism, Republican start with criticism and end with apologies or praise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

  • Wayfarers, Book 1
  • By: Becky Chambers
  • Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
  • Length: 15 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 273
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 265
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 265

Firefly meets Mass Effect in this thrilling self-published debut! When Rosemary Harper joins the crew of the Wayfarer, she isn't expecting much. The Wayfarer, a patched-up ship that's seen better days, offers her everything she could possibly want: a small, quiet spot to call home for a while, adventure in far-off corners of the galaxy, and distance from her troubled past. But Rosemary gets more than she bargained for with the Wayfarer.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Yawn

  • By simon on 16-12-2017

Too much explaining and long winded feelings

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-03-2017

What would have made The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet better?

It seems the characters get so many opportunities to explain for the reader instead of developing the story.

Would you ever listen to anything by Becky Chambers again?

Maybe, depending on recomendations

How could the performance have been better?

The performance was fine

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • The Daily Stoic

  • 366 Meditations on Wisdom, Perseverance, and the Art of Living
  • By: Ryan Holiday, Stephen Hanselman
  • Narrated by: Brian Holsopple
  • Length: 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 153
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 126
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 124

Why have history's greatest minds - from George Washington to Frederick the Great to Ralph Waldo Emerson along with today's top performers, from Super Bowl-winning football coaches to CEOs and celebrities - embraced the wisdom of the ancient Stoics? Because they realize that the most valuable wisdom is timeless and that philosophy is for living a better life, not a classroom exercise. The Daily Stoic offers a daily devotional of Stoic insights and exercises, featuring all-new translations.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • hardly works as an audio book

  • By lachy on 10-11-2017

Seems repeating the same message throughout.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-01-2017

Seems repeating the same message throughout. Narrator was good, but couldn't save it for me.

6 of 17 people found this review helpful