LISTENER

Jessica Power

  • 2
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 12
  • ratings
  • Call Me by Your Name

  • A Novel
  • By: André Aciman
  • Narrated by: Armie Hammer
  • Length: 7 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 737
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 692
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 695

Call Me by Your Name first swept across the world in 2007. It is the story of a sudden and powerful romance that blossoms between an adolescent boy and a summer guest at his parents' cliffside mansion on the Italian Riviera. During the restless summer weeks, unrelenting but buried currents of obsession, fascination, and desire intensify their passion as they test the charged ground between them and verge toward the one thing both already fear they may never truly find again: total intimacy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • It made me cry

  • By Barrye Dickinson on 20-12-2017

It gets better

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-09-2018

The start of this book is interminable, repetitive and juvenile but not in the evocative way I hoped. The only thing that pulled me through was Armie Hammer’s voice! I’m glad I stuck with it because about half way though it becomes quite beautiful. It’s also very pretentious, but this doesn’t make it inaccessible, just occasionally very cringey. Glad I listened rather than read it or I probably wouldn’t have pushed through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Elmet

  • By: Fiona Mozley
  • Narrated by: Gareth Bennett-Ryan
  • Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 29
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 29

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family, as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape. Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Compelling story very well written and Narrated

  • By Lynn A Brake on 19-12-2018

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-09-2018

A very good, subtle performance of an excellent novel. Still reeling at the ending. Even all the foreshadowing didn’t guess that it would end like that.