LISTENER

Rosemary

  • 17
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 19
  • ratings
  • The Good Daughter

  • By: Karin Slaughter
  • Narrated by: Susie James
  • Length: 15 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 900
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 832
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 829

Twenty-eight years ago, Charlotte and Samantha Quinn's happy smalltown family life was torn apart by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father - Pikeville's notorious defense attorney - devastated. And it left the family fractured beyond repair, consumed by secrets from that terrible night. Twenty-eight years later, and Charlie has followed in her father's footsteps to become a lawyer herself. But when violence comes to Pikeville again - and a shocking tragedy leaves the whole town traumatized - Charlie is plunged into a nightmare.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • WOW..... Just WOW

  • By Anonymous User on 16-11-2018

I didn't see that coming

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-01-2019

I've been reading Slaughter for many years now and am never disappointed. I hang out for her novels. A mystery to the end

  • The Girls in the Water

  • Detectives King and Lane, Book 1
  • By: Victoria Jenkins
  • Narrated by: Katie Villa
  • Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25

When the body of Lola Evans is found in a local park on a cold winter's morning, Detective Alex King and her new recruit Chloe Lane are called in to lead the hunt for the killer. Chilling and totally compelling with an utterly surprising twist, The Girls in the Water is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Sarah Hilary, and Patricia Gibney.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great first book

  • By kevinplee@hotmail.com on 30-05-2018

A fabulous listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-10-2018

I love discovering new authors. Not disappointed. I'm looking forward to the next installment in the series

  • The Crossing Places

  • By: Elly Griffiths
  • Narrated by: Jane McDowell
  • Length: 8 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 177
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 165
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 163

When she's not digging up bones or other ancient objects, Ruth Galloway lectures at the University of North Norfolk. She lives happily alone in a remote place called Saltmarsh overlooking the North Sea and, for company; she has her cats Flint and Sparky, and Radio 4. When a child's bones are found in the marshes near an ancient site that Ruth worked on ten years earlier, Ruth is asked to date them.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great characters great story

  • By LP on 17-05-2015

Griping

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-09-2018

Loved this tale. Kept me guessing till the end and the story was told beautifully

  • Deadly Secrets

  • Detective Erika Foster, Book 6
  • By: Robert Bryndza
  • Narrated by: Jan Cramer
  • Length: 8 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 94
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 85
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 85

On a cold icy morning, a mother wakes to find her daughter’s blood-soaked body frozen to the road. Who would carry out such a horrific killing on the victim’s doorstep? Straight off her last harrowing case, Detective Erika Foster is feeling fragile but determined to lead the investigation. As she sets to work, she finds reports of assaults in the same quiet South London suburb where the woman was killed. One chilling detail links them to the murder victim - they were all attacked by a figure in black wearing a gas mask.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • I enjoyed Deadly Secrets

  • By Kindle Customer on 23-02-2019

Always gripping <br />

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-05-2018

I hang out for the next book In the series. This one didn't disappoint that's for sure.

  • The Silent Children

  • Detective Robyn Carter, Book 4
  • By: Carol Wyer
  • Narrated by: Emma Newman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 42
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 38
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this.... Years later a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed. Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Developing series

  • By kevinplee@hotmail.com on 26-10-2018

Another great book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-04-2018

Always kudos you guessing right till the end. I couldn't stop listening. I loved it

  • The Lost Child

  • By: Patricia Gibney
  • Narrated by: Michele Moran
  • Length: 12 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 181
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 161
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 161

An elderly woman is found murdered in her own home, and Detective Lottie Parker and her partner Detective Boyd are called in to investigate. When they discover that the victim's daughter is missing as well, they start to fear for the safety of the whole family.... Two days later, as a nearby house is set on fire, and with the body count rising, Lottie and her team begin to unpick a web of secrets and lies, as the murders seem to link back to a case investigated by Lottie's father before he took his own life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Best crime series in a long time.

  • By Peter Hawkins on 09-11-2017

I didn't see that coming

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-03-2018

A great story that gets you hooked with the well written characters and keeps you guessing till the end

  • Last Man Standing

  • By: David Baldacci
  • Narrated by: Jason Culp
  • Length: 22 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 69
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 64
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 64

Seven seconds. That's all it took for Web London to lose everything: his friends, his team, his reputation. Point man of the FBI's super-elite Hostage Rescue Team, Web roared into a blind alley towards a drug leader's lair, only to meet a high-tech, custom-designed ambush that killed everyone around him. Coping with the blame-filled words of anguished widows and the suspicions of colleagues, Web tries to put his life back together.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Best ever yet

  • By Amazon Customer on 05-11-2017

Always a good read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-07-2017

I love David's style. As usual I was kept guessing till three end. It did not disappoint

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • I Let You Go

  • By: Clare Mackintosh
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe, Julia Barrie
  • Length: 13 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 477
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 455
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 454

A tragic accident. It all happened so quickly. She couldn't have prevented it. Could she? In a split second, Jenna Gray's world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief, and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever. Slowly Jenna begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Not quite what the synopsis leads you to believe

  • By Karen on 20-04-2017

twists upon twists

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-12-2016

just when you think you know where the story is headed another curve in the plot! love if

  • I See You

  • By: Clare Mackintosh
  • Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 831
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 771
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 771

When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it's there. There's no explanation, no website - just a grainy image and a phone number. She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it's just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that.Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant great story.

  • By Mindy on 21-08-2016

A new favorite author

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-11-2016

What a page turner. got me hooked from the start. I couldn't wait for the next chapter. now looking forward to the next book

  • The Forgotten: John Puller, Book 2

  • By: David Baldacci
  • Narrated by: Ron McLarty, Orlagh Cassidy
  • Length: 12 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 134
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 125
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 125

Military criminal investigator John Puller is drawn closer to home when his aunt is found dead in her house in Paradise, Florida. The local police have ruled the death as an accident, but Puller finds evidence to suggest that she may well have been murdered. On the surface the town lives up to its name, but as Puller digs deeper he realises that this town and its inhabitants are more akin to Hell than Paradise. His belief is confirmed as evidence of strange and inexplicable events come to light.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great

  • By Allan on 02-01-2017

Page tuner

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-04-2016

As always a wonderful listen. loved it when it was the time I put aside to just listen and relax to a great book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful