LISTENER

Ms. F. Miller

Adelaide, Australia
  • 6
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 50
  • ratings
  • The Mercy Seat

  • By: Elizabeth H. Winthrop
  • Narrated by: Jennifer Woodburn, Jeff Harding, Daniel Mark Collins, and others
  • Length: 6 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 2

In a tale taut with tension, events unfold hour by hour from the perspectives of nine people involved. They include Willie himself, who knows what really happened, and his father, desperately trying to reach the town jail to see his son one last time; the prosecuting lawyer, haunted by being forced to seek the death penalty against his convictions, and his wife, who believes Willie to be innocent; the priest who has become a friend to Willie; and a mother whose only son is fighting in the Pacific, bent on befriending her black neighbours in defiance of her husband.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow!

  • By Ms. F. Miller on 03-02-2019

Wow!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-02-2019

This novel is extraordinary. A well written novel, extremely well narrated, and one that I’m sure will keep resonating. Thanks to the author and to the narrators.

  • Washington Black

  • By: Esi Edugyan
  • Narrated by: Dion Graham
  • Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 35
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31

When two English brothers take the helm of a Barbados sugar plantation, Washington Black - an 11-year-old field slave - finds himself selected as personal servant to one of these men. The eccentric Christopher 'Titch' Wilde is a naturalist, explorer, scientist, inventor and abolitionist whose single-minded pursuit of the perfect aerial machine mystifies all around him. Titch's idealistic plans are soon shattered, and Washington finds himself in mortal danger. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great read

  • By Amazon Customer on 02-01-2019

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-12-2018

What a fabulous story and so excellently delivered. One of my best audio books for 2018

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Tightrope

  • By: Simon Mawer
  • Narrated by: Gordon Griffin
  • Length: 14 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 2

Returned to an England she barely knows and a postwar world she doesn't understand, Marian searches for something on which to ground her life. Family and friends surround her, and a RAF officer attempts to bring her the normality of love and affection, but she is haunted by the guilt of knowing that her contribution to the war helped to develop the atom bomb. Where, in the complexities of peacetime, does her loyalty lie?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Winner

  • By Ms. F. Miller on 28-09-2015

Winner

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-09-2015

Excellent story about post war life and it's difficulties for normality when spies return from undercover activities. More engrossing as main character is female.

  • Jakob's Colours

  • By: Lindsay Hawdon
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 2

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust, this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark, and The Book Thief. "Remarkable - brave, big-hearted and beautifully written" (Andrew Miller, author of the Costa Award-winner PURE) Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, halif Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sackcloth, still stained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A great read

  • By Ms. F. Miller on 11-06-2015

A great read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-06-2015

This novel is about a part of WW2 that is not confronted often. Superbly narrated and intriguing right to the end.

  • Big Little Lies

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 15 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,023
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,772
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,759

Pirriwee Public is a beautiful little beachside primary school where children are taught that 'sharing is caring.' So how has the annual School Trivia Night ended in full-blown riot? Sirens are wailing. People are screaming. The principal is mortified. And one parent is dead. Was it a murder, a tragic accident or just good parents gone bad? As the parents at Pirriwee Public are about to discover, sometimes it's the little lies that turn out to be the most lethal.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Earphones comfy? Go!!

  • By Natalie on 19-05-2015

An excellent read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-04-2015

This novel is a fantastic, compassionate and compelling story and was read superbly. A complex story told with extreme skill.

  • The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher

  • By: Hilary Mantel
  • Narrated by: Jane Carr
  • Length: 4 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 11
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 12

A brilliant collection of short stories from the double Man Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies.Hilary Mantel is one of Britain's most accomplished and acclaimed writers. In these ten bracingly subversive tales, all her gifts of characterisation and observation are fully engaged, summoning forth the horrors so often concealed behind everyday façades.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Queen of the storytellers

  • By Ms. F. Miller on 31-03-2015

Queen of the storytellers

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-03-2015

Hilary Mantel's short stories are just brilliant. Superbly read. Exceptionally enjoyable. Each story was a novel in itself. Thanks, Audible.