LISTENER

Elizabeth

  • 15
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 28
  • ratings
  • I: The Creation of a Serial Killer

  • By: Jack Olsen
  • Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
  • Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 34
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 32
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32

In February 1990, Oregon State Police arrested John Sosnovke and Laverne Pavlinac for the vicious rape and murder of Taunja Bennet. Pavlinac had come forth and confessed, implicating her boyfriend and producing physical evidence that linked them to the crime. Authorities closed the case. There was just one problem. They had the wrong people. And the real killer wasn't about to let anyone take credit for his kill. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fascinating

  • By Anonymous User on 19-12-2018

I really love this narrator

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-01-2019

I really enjoyed this book and it gave an insight into how genetics play a role into how people turn out.

  • Stealing Fire

  • How Silicon Valley, the Navy SEALs, and Maverick Scientists Are Revolutionizing the Way We LIve and Work
  • By: Steven Kotler, Jamie Wheal
  • Narrated by: Fred Sanders
  • Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 242
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 202
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 201

The authors of the best-selling Bold and The Rise of Superman explore altered states of consciousness and how they can ignite passion, fuel creativity, and accelerate problem solving, in this groundbreaking book in the vein of Daniel Pink's Drive and Charles Duhigg's Smarter Faster Better.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • The whole book could fit in a chapter

  • By Mr. G. Trabakoulas on 12-10-2017

This book has inspired me

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-08-2018

The narrator has a very even tone and this book has inspired me beyond belief.

  • Silent Child

  • Audible's Thriller of 2017
  • By: Sarah A. Denzil
  • Narrated by: Joanne Froggatt
  • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,475
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,381
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,377

Introducing Audible's Thriller of the Year: Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil, performed by Joanne Froggatt. In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned. His body was never recovered. Ten years later Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life...until Aiden returns.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Thriller of the year...? Nope.

  • By Anonymous User on 30-10-2017

Couldn’t pause it!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-11-2017

Omg I couldn’t put this down!

Amazing!

Seriously if you love crime books this is for you.

  • The Last Victim

  • A True-Life Journey into the Mind of a Serial Killer
  • By: Jason Moss, Jeffrey Kottler
  • Narrated by: Thomas Fawley
  • Length: 10 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 17
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18

It started with a college course assignment, then escalated into a dangerous obsession. Eighteen-year-old honor student Jason Moss wrote to men whose body counts had made criminal history: men named Dahmer, Manson, Ramirez, and Gacy. Posing as their ideal victim, Jason seduced them with his words. One by one they wrote him back, showering him with their madness and violent fantasies. Then the game spun out of control. John Wayne Gacy revealed all to Jason - and invited his pen pal to visit him in prison.... It was an offer Jason couldn't turn down. Even if it made him....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Unique insight.

  • By Dolly on 01-06-2017

Too crazy to be true!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-2017

Jason Moss draws a line between what is normal and what lengths one can go to to get what they want. This books draws a perfect comparison between the violent and non violent psychopath and the different paths one can take when you're a very driven person.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Modern Romance

  • An Investigation
  • By: Aziz Ansari
  • Narrated by: Aziz Ansari
  • Length: 6 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 449
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 411
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 408

At some point every one of us embarks on a journey to find love. We meet people, date, get into and out of relationships, all with the hope of finding someone with whom we share a deep connection. This seems standard now, but it's wildly different from what people did even just decades ago. Single people today have more romantic options than at any point in human history. With technology, our abilities to connect with and sort through these options are staggering. So why are so many people frustrated?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Aziz as you'd expect

  • By Thomas on 30-04-2016

Very funny and very true

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-2017

I really enjoyed this book even though I'm not single. Aziz is obviously a very intelligent man and gives all the information in this book in a very comical and fun way. It's not dry for a second.

  • Adnan's Story

  • The Case That Inspired the Podcast Phenomenon Serial
  • By: Rabia Chaudry
  • Narrated by: Rabia Chaudry
  • Length: 14 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 459
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 427
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 423

On February 28, 2000, Adnan Syed was convicted and sentenced to life plus 30 years for the murder of his ex-girlfriend, Hae Min Lee, a high school senior in Baltimore, Maryland. From the moment of his arrest, Syed has consistently maintained his innocence. Rabia Chaudry, a family friend, always believed him and has never given up the hope that he might someday be released. By 2013, however, after almost all appeals had been exhausted, things looked bleak. That was when Rabia contacted Sarah Koenig, a producer at This American Life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Outstanding!!!

  • By Jennifer Wilkinson on 18-08-2016

Love the author reading the book!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-2017

I have been gripped to the story of Adnan Syed since Serial and I have loved hearing his story in Rabia's words in Rabia's voice.

  • Into the Darkest Corner

  • By: Elizabeth Haynes
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe, Karen Cass
  • Length: 13 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31

Catherine has been enjoying the single life for long enough to know a good catch when she sees one. Gorgeous, charismatic, spontaneous – Lee seems almost too perfect to be true. And her friends clearly agree, as each in turn falls under his spell. But there is a darker side to Lee. His erratic, controlling and sometimes frightening behaviour means that Catherine is increasingly isolated. Driven into the darkest corner of her world, and trusting no one, she plans a meticulous escape.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • i don't see why it had such good reviews.

  • By sally on 07-12-2017

A must read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-2017

I was recommended this book on Laura Richards Real Crime Profile podcast and I couldn't put it down. It's so well written and gripping but is also very educational for what to look out for when it comes to coercive control and domestic abuse.

  • Revenge of the Tide

  • By: Elizabeth Haynes
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 3

Genevieve has finally escaped the stressful demands of her sales job and achieved her dream: to leave London behind and start a new life aboard a houseboat in Kent. But on the night of her boat-warming party the dream is shattered when a body washes up beside the boat, and she recognises the victim. As the sanctuary of the boatyard is threatened, and her life is increasingly at risk, the story of how Genevieve came to be so out of her depth unfolds, and she learns the real cost of mixing business with pleasure.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Not my favorite

  • By Elizabeth on 11-03-2017

Not my favorite

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-2017

This is not Elizabeth Haynes best book, it sort of feels like a thriller and is a bit disingenuous.

  • The Starch Solution

  • Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good!
  • By: John McDougall, Mary McDougall
  • Narrated by: Stephen R. Thorne
  • Length: 6 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 36
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 31
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31

From Atkins to Dukan, fear of the almighty carb has taken over the diet industry for the past few decades - even the mere mention of a starch-heavy food is enough to trigger an avalanche of shame and longing. But the truth is, carbs are not the enemy. Now, best-selling author John A. McDougall, MD, and his kitchen-savvy wife, Mary, prove that a starch-rich diet can actually help us lose weight, prevent a variety of ills, and even cure common diseases.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Change your life with this one

  • By Elizabeth on 11-03-2017

Change your life with this one

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-2017

Dr McDougall is very well known as a health guru. The starch solution really works!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The China Study, Revised and Expanded Edition

  • The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted and the Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss, and Long-Term Health
  • By: T. Colin Campbell PhD, Thomas M. Campbell II MD
  • Narrated by: Dan Woren
  • Length: 18 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 90
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 80
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 79

More than 30 years ago, nutrition researcher T. Colin Campbell and his team at Cornell University, in partnership with teams in China and England, embarked upon the most comprehensive study ever undertaken of the relationship between diet and the risk of developing disease. What they found, when combined with findings in Campbell's laboratory, opened their eyes to the dangers of a diet high in animal protein and the unparalleled health benefits of a whole foods, plant-based diet.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Essential reading for all.

  • By Anonymous User on 28-11-2017

It will change your life

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-2017

I have reread this several times just for my own health. I highlight recommend this book.