LISTENER

Paul

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 4
  • ratings
  • The Pagan Lord

  • The Last Kingdom Series, Book 7
  • By: Bernard Cornwell
  • Narrated by: Matt Bates
  • Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 62
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 57

The new novel in Bernard Cornwell's number one best-selling series The Warrior Chronicles, on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg. Alfred the Great is dead and Edward his son reigns as king. Wessex survives but peace cannot hold. The Danes in the north, led by Viking Cnut Longsword, stand ready to invade and will never rest until the emerald crown is theirs.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing narration

  • By Jarrod on 18-12-2015

Story at its best

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-06-2015

His usual standard of story we'll done look forward to the next book and the continuation of utred adventures.

Sword Song
    The Battle for London
    
        By:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Bernard Cornwell
    
    


    
    
        Narrated by:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Jonathan Keeble
    
    


    
    Length: 12 hrs and 12 mins
    15 ratings
    Overall 4.7
  • Sword Song

  • The Battle for London
  • By: Bernard Cornwell
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 12 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 15
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 12

Alfred of Wessex has survived the Danish invasions, but though he now has an uneasy truce with his enemies, fresh Viking ships are arriving to plunder and enslave the Saxons. Those Vikings must be defeated, and Alfred's first move is to deny them their fortress on the Thames, the decayed Roman city of London. His weapon is Uhtred, a warrior of formidable reputation. But neither Alfred's wisdom, not Uhtred's prowess, might be enough to save Wessex when a Viking lord captures a prize of inestimable value.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • As normal great story

  • By Paul on 14-05-2015

As normal great story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-05-2015

I found it very good addition to the series look forward to the next one. Good narrative. And story line

  • The Empty Throne

  • The Last Kingdom Series, Book 8
  • By: Bernard Cornwell
  • Narrated by: Matt Bates
  • Length: 11 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 69
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 64
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 64

The new novel in Bernard Cornwell's number one bestselling series The Warrior Chronicles, on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg. In the battle for power, there can be only one ruler.England is fractured, torn apart more by internal fighting than the threat of Viking invasion. The ruler of Mercia is dying, leaving no legitimate heir. His wife is a formidable fighter and great leader, but no woman has ever ruled over an English kingdom.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • dreams

  • By Ben on 14-09-2018

great story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-04-2015

i found the story good in the style i expect from B.C...top marks
wish it was longer

  • Praetorian

  • Eagles of the Empire, Book 11
  • By: Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
  • Length: 12 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 54
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 50
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 49

Praetorian is the gripping eleventh novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. AD 51. Legionaries Cato and Macro have forged a bond that has survived war, rebellion and torture. Yet nothing has prepared them for a daunting mission on the deadliest battlefield of all: the bloody streets of Rome. Traitors are threatening to plunge the Empire into bloody chaos and no one can be trusted....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Still loving it

  • By kevinplee@hotmail.com on 22-09-2018

good yarn. .😊

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-03-2015

as i have read all Simon Scarrow books the stories are great but i thoughg narrator was a little flat would improve if it was read as a play..☺