LISTENER

Kindle Customer

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 18
  • ratings

Bombshell of a book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-09-2020

So completely fun and so well performed that I'm terribly sad to have finished. I might even do it over again.

I couldn't have enjoyed this more

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-05-2019

A genuinely beautiful story (a new favourite of mine) and probably the best narrator performance I've heard to date (up there with Tim Gerard Reynolds and the Red Rising series). If you have a heart and a shred of whimsy you won't regret a credit spent here. Unfortunately I couldn't do a review justice, but contained herein is a magical love story with heroes, gods and monsters. Go for it.

Outstanding sci-fi, brilliant performance

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-11-2018

A novel deserving of every award it has won read by an actress of rare talent. I enjoyed every second and spent a lot of those seconds marvelling at both the powerful grasp of the author and the way Adjoa brings every character to life. Felt like applauding at the end. Not a thing I could complain about.

Even better than book 1

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-10-2018

I was so wrapped up in listening to this book that my husband, the most reasonable of men, started jokingly referring to Tim Gerard Reynolds as my boyfriend. I couldn't be parted from it.

1 person found this helpful

A true armchair adventure

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-10-2018

A marvellous book, the best I've read from an author I already enjoyed, performed by my favourite Audiobook star. There wasn't anywhere to go wrong, so it was perfect. My only complaints are how hard it was to turn off at night and that I now have to buy the rest of the series immediately...

4 people found this helpful

Excellent debut fantasy, solid performance

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-07-2018

I didn't know this was read by the author until after purchasing and would never have known it wasn't a professional performer if he hadn't said so at the beginning. Great voice and accent to listen to, exactly what I look for in an audio book. The voices weren't as dramatically different from one another as usual but that wasn't a bad thing. Comprehension never suffered - I could always tell who was speaking. I also enjoyed knowing that it was being read as the author intended. All those inferences you get from voice - they belonged in the story.

Icing on top of a very entertaining story. Coming of age fantasy is a soft spot of mine but this was still a stand out. It will almost certainly appeal to fans of Anthony Ryan, Pierce Brown etc, and who doesn't love giant panthers?

Calidan, Cassius and the cast of secondary characters are likable. The story is dark but not unrelentingly so. Clearly a debut, it wasn't as mercilessly edited as fare from a veteran author, but it kept rolling smoothly enough that I never lost interest.

I'm not sure how I felt about the dual timelines (current action and backstory). The current action was somewhat necessary to keep the tension (knowing what was lurking around the corner) during some of the longer sections of backstory but it also felt like a disruptive device that shouldn't have been necessary.

I'll be picking up the sequel as much for the world building reveals as to find out what happens to our intrepid twosome.



Sensational

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-05-2018

I loved the Broken Empire series, wasn't as much of a fan of the Red Queen's War, but Red Sister is just amazing. Helen Duff worked miracles with all of the characters. It usually takes me a few chapters to lose my irritation with audiobook performers, but I loved this from the first minute. The book represents the absolute best of coming of age fantasy, and this man is the best fantasy writer of his generation, in my opinion. What a ride...

Legendary Space Opera

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-09-2016

Among the best in its genre. It's well read, but get this one for the outstanding story. I'm fussy about my sci-fi but this book passes all the tests with flying colors.