LISTENER

John

  • 23
  • reviews
  • 31
  • helpful votes
  • 44
  • ratings
  • The Yellow Villa

  • By: Amanda Hampson
  • Narrated by: Zoe Carides
  • Length: 7 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 9
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 9

Mia and Ben, an Australian couple in their early 30s, have relinquished one dream and embraced another, selling their Sydney flat and purchasing an old yellow house in the picturesque village of Cordes-sur-Ciel in southwest France. They soon meet sophisticated neighbours Dominic and Susannah, a British couple in their 60s who welcome them warmly but whose own relationship is in crisis. Mia and Ben are immediately starstruck and impressed by their lavish hospitality. However, things with Dominic and Susannah are not what they first seem. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • intriguing story

  • By jude13 on 14-12-2018

Enjoyable read

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-11-2018

I thought the narration was really well done. It would not be easy trying to simulate British expats in France as well as Australians - particularly Australians attempting to learn French (which was spot-on I'm sorry to say). The story was a good one. My only slight problem was that it climaxed rather late in the book and then the wrap-up was a bit too quick and neat. Overall I enjoyed the book but it's not one I'm going to tell my friends is a 'must read' (or 'must listen' in this case).

  • The Missing Wife

  • By: Sheila O'Flanagan
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 12 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 178
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 167
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 166

Fans of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times best-selling author Sheila O'Flanagan's The Missing Wife. Have you ever wanted to disappear? When Imogen Naughton vanishes, everyone who knows her is shocked. She has a perfect marriage. Her handsome husband treats her like a princess. She's always said how lucky she is. So why has she left? And how will she survive without Vince?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Left wanting more Sheila O'Flanagan

  • By John on 08-03-2018

Left wanting more Sheila O'Flanagan

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-03-2018

This is the first Sheila O'Flanagan book I've read. I got so involved with this story my heart was racing at times. Had to keep listening well past bedtime in the last chapters - wouldn't be able to sleep otherwise. I'm now deciding on which Sheila O'Flanagan to listen to next.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

  • By: Gail Honeyman
  • Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,215
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2,964
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,952

Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive - but not how to live. Eleanor Oliphant leads a simple life. She wears the same clothes to work every day, eats the same meal deal for lunch every day and buys the same two bottles of vodka to drink every weekend. Eleanor Oliphant is happy. Nothing is missing from her carefully timetabled life. Except, sometimes, everything. One simple act of kindness is about to shatter the walls Eleanor has built around herself. Now she must learn how to navigate the world....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So much better than completely fine

  • By Bec on 29-10-2017

Refreshing

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-03-2018

The protagonist in this book is so different from your normal heroine. Beautifully written book that had me snorting with amusement sometimes and on the verge of tears at others. Was dying to know what had happened in her past to make her the way she was. Hope to see many more books from Gail Honeyman.

  • The Break

  • By: Marian Keyes
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 19 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 979
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 885
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 884

The story of a relationship that everyone thought was forever and which is now in danger of being for never, The Break is about getting older and staying in love when life, real life, is trying to pull you apart.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • A Light Hearted Romp

  • By Anna Spencer on 11-10-2017

Thoroughly entertaining

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-11-2017

Really enjoyed this book. Marian Keyes' writing style is very entertaining. She delves into the complexity of relationships with great humour. I will be searching out more Marian Keyes books to read.

  • The Child

  • By: Fiona Barton
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Adjoa Andoh, Finty Williams, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 613
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 577
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 577

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers, it's impossible to ignore. For one woman it's a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her. For another it's the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered. And for a third, a journalist, it's the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth. The Child's story will be told.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Bloody brilliant!

  • By Jane S on 12-07-2017

Great read - or rather - listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-11-2017

Loved the story, the characters and the narration. Stayed up way too late to finish it.

  • Truly Madly Guilty

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 17 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 840
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 770
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 773

What if they hadn't gone? That's the question Clementine can't stop asking herself. It was just a backyard barbeque. They didn't know their hosts that well. They were friends of friends. They could so easily have said no. But she and her husband, Sam, said yes, and now they can never change what they did and didn't do that beautiful winter's day.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Not like the other books

  • By Anita on 28-11-2016

Another gem from Liane Moriarty

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-09-2016

My favorite combination of writer and performer. Such an interesting and varied selection of characters and a well-constructed story. Thought it was a tiny bit long and drawn out in places but generally really enjoyed this book.

  • The Widow

  • By: Fiona Barton
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 10 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 718
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 679
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 678

Exclusive to Audible! Listen to a discussion between the author and the narrator of The Widow at the end of this recording. We've all seen him: the man - the monster - staring from the front page of every newspaper, accused of a terrible crime. But what about her: the woman who grips his arm on the courtroom stairs - the wife who stands by him? Jean Taylor's life was blissfully ordinary. Nice house, nice husband. Glen was all she'd ever wanted: her Prince Charming.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • absolutely addictive listening.

  • By eloise on 28-01-2016

Great book, brilliant narration

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-05-2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this beautifully paced book but was so impressed with the narration. Possibly the best in my Audible experience.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Pretty Girls

  • By: Karin Slaughter
  • Narrated by: Jennifer Woodward, Robert G Slade
  • Length: 14 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 562
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 514
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 513

The compelling new standalone novel from the Sunday Times number-one best-selling author of Unseen and Cop Town. With a missing girl in the news, Claire Scott can’t help but be reminded of her sister, who disappeared 20 years ago in a mystery that was never solved. But when Claire begins to learn the truth about her sister, nothing will ever be the same.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Simply Amazing!

  • By Ranini on 27-08-2015

Gripping

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-03-2016

Gruesome but compelling. Too disturbing for bedtime reading. Good story and well read by both the narrators.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Last Anniversary

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 14 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 542
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 481
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 482

"I'll tell you something, something important. Love is a decision. Not a feeling. That's what you young people don't realise. That's why you're always off divorcing each other. No offence, dear." So decrees the formidable Connie Thrum of Scribbly Gum Island. She is the chief decision-maker of a rather unconventional family and her word is law. It's been over seventy years since Connie and her sister Rose visited their neighbours and found the kettle boiling and a baby waking for her feed, but no sign of her parents.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Slow

  • By lolita on 14-06-2015

Love this combo

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-02-2016

It's always a pleasure to read Liane Moriarty books and I love the way Caroline Lee reads them. I have read all Liane Moriarty's books and am just waiting for the release of a new one.

  • Girt

  • The Unauthorised History of Australia
  • By: David Hunt
  • Narrated by: David Hunt
  • Length: 6 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,660
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,552
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,544

Girt. No word could better capture the essence of Australia.... In this hilarious history, David Hunt reveals the truth of Australia's past, from megafauna to Macquarie - the cock-ups and curiosities, the forgotten eccentrics and Eureka moments that have made us who we are. Girt introduces forgotten heroes like Mary McLoghlin, transported for the crime of "felony of sock", and Trim the cat, who beat a French monkey to become the first animal to circumnavigate Australia.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • True Blue History of Australia - Addicted

  • By Nelson C on 25-05-2015

Entertaining

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-02-2016

I'm no history buff by any stretch but I really enjoyed this book. Full of very Australian humour and interesting facts. I could definitely study history this way. This book deserves its success.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful