LISTENER

Trish, from Oz

  • 10
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 12
  • ratings
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane

  • By: Neil Gaiman
  • Narrated by: Neil Gaiman
  • Length: 5 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 295
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 278
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 280

The Ocean at the End of the Lane is a fable that reshapes modern fantasy: moving, terrifying and elegiac - as pure as a dream, as delicate as a butterfly's wing, as dangerous as a knife in the dark - from storytelling genius Neil Gaiman. It's about memory and magic and survival, about the power of stories and the darkness inside each of us. It began for our narrator forty years ago when the family lodger stole their car and committed suicide in it, stirring up ancient powers best left undisturbed.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Magical and imaginative!

  • By Isabelle on 31-05-2016

Another great listen/read from a master storyteller

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-11-2018

Quite dark, but great book. Filled with interesting characters. I love that Neil narrates his own books, that way they are read/annunciated as he intended. I have listened to many of Neil Gaimans’ book and will continue to.

  • Everything Is Lies

  • By: Helen Callaghan
  • Narrated by: Anna Popplewell, Sian Thomas
  • Length: 11 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,058
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 985
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 976

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Everything Is Lies by Helen Callaghan. Sophia's parents lead quiet, unremarkable lives. At least that is what she's always believed. Until the day she arrives at her childhood home to find a house ringing with silence. Her mother is hanging from a tree. Her father is lying in a pool of his own blood, near to death. The police are convinced it is an attempted murder-suicide. But Sophia is sure that the woman who brought her up isn't a killer....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Genuinely Thrilling

  • By steellyn on 24-03-2018

Very slow

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-07-2018

I found this book very difficult to get through. I wanted to give up but my stubbornness wouldn’t let me - what a shame. The narration was good, but the actual story was a letdown.

  • Year One

  • (Chronicles of The One, Book 1)
  • By: Nora Roberts
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
  • Length: 12 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 359
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 329
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 329

It began on New Year's Eve. The sickness came on suddenly, and spread quickly. The fear spread even faster. Within weeks, everything people counted on began to fail them. The electrical grid sputtered; law and government collapsed - and more than half of the world's population was decimated. Where there had been order, there was now chaos. And as the power of science and technology receded, magic rose up in its place. Some of it is good, like the witchcraft worked by Lana Bingham, practicing in the loft apartment she shares with her lover, Max.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Not a dull moment

  • By Anonymous User on 08-01-2018

Slow to start - but well worth persevering

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-03-2018

This book is narrated very well. The story takes awhile to get going, but is worth persevering. I am looking forward to the next instalment

  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 773
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 726
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 729

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Complex mystery, chilling theme

  • By Heidi on 07-05-2016

Great narration

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-12-2017

I loved having the three different narrators for the main roles. No confusion as to who each chapter was about. I found the storyline awfully long but did persevere and kept on until the end. Glad I did

  • The Child

  • By: Fiona Barton
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Adjoa Andoh, Finty Williams, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 613
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 577
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 577

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers, it's impossible to ignore. For one woman it's a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her. For another it's the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered. And for a third, a journalist, it's the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth. The Child's story will be told.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Bloody brilliant!

  • By Jane S on 12-07-2017

A great listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-09-2017

I really enjoyed this book. Having the different narrators for each character was great, it was so much easier hearing the different voice, therefore knowing who each chapter was about. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.

  • The Chemist

  • By: Stephenie Meyer
  • Narrated by: Ellen Archer
  • Length: 17 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 303
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 287
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 286

In this gripping thriller, an ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life. She used to work for the US government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn't even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning. Now she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved the read!

  • By Amazon Customer on 28-11-2016

Slow to start, but worth perservering

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-04-2017

I found this book to be very slow. Lots of waffle at the beginning but it certainly got more exciting about a third of the way through. I persevered as I am a huge fan of The Host (by the same author) & thought I should give it a fair go. I am so glad I did, I really enjoyed the book. Lots of action and intrigue. The characters were really interesting. The narrator did an excellent job, it was easy to differentiate between the characters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • My Husband's Wife

  • By: Jane Corry
  • Narrated by: Abigail Thaw, Lily Bevan
  • Length: 13 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,033
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 943
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 945

When lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind. But when she takes on her first criminal case, she starts to find herself strangely drawn to her client. A man who's accused of murder. A man she will soon be willing to risk everything for. But is he really innocent? And who is she to judge?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Predictable and irritating

  • By Jo on 03-12-2016

Loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-10-2016

I really enjoyed this story. It was very well read - both narrators did a great job. The storyline was engaging. Well worth s listen

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • What Alice Forgot

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 15 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 912
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 833
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 830

When Alice Love surfaces from a beautiful dream to find she's been injured in a gym, she knows that something is very wrong – she hates exercise. Alice's first concern is her baby – she's pregnant with her first child, and she's desperate to see her husband, Nick, who she knows will be worried about her.But Alice isn't pregnant. And Nick isn't worried.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Wonderful Story

  • By Mari on 19-08-2014

A great lighthearted read

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-05-2016

This book was a little slow to start, but I am glad I persevered and stuck with it. The characters were believable - I loved the quirky grandmother. I have now read/heard 3 books by this author and have enjoyed all of them. Highly recommend.

  • The Wicked Girls

  • By: Alex Marwood
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 14 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 56
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 50
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 50

One summer morning, three little girls meet for the first time. By the end of the day, two will be charged with murder. Twenty-five years later, journalist Kirsty Lindsay is reporting on a series of sickening attacks on young female tourists in a seaside town when her investigation leads her to interview funfair cleaner Amber Gordon. For Kirsty and Amber, it's the first time they've seen each other since that dark day when they were just children.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Book

  • By Julia on 08-02-2016

Worth listening to

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-05-2016

I found this book very slow to start, but it really started to pick up the pace about halfway through. It was very well narrated and each character was easily identifiable. Quite thought provoking - this is one book that will stay with me for some time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Girl on the Train

  • By: Paula Hawkins
  • Narrated by: Louise Brealey, India Fisher, Clare Corbett
  • Length: 10 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,431
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,053
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,049

Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens. She's even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life - as she sees it - is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy. And then she sees something shocking. It's only a minute until the train moves on, but it's enough. Now everything's changed.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Slow start, pretty good overall

  • By Rod Swift on 16-02-2015

Loved this book

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-02-2016

I really liked that there were 3 separate voices for the main characters. The story was well told. The storyline was gripping, it wasn't until I was 3/4 through that I guessed roughly how it would end. Well worth a listen. I highly recommend this book to those that enjoy crime, mystery with a bit of 'feel good' thrown in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful