LISTENER

Anonymous

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 12
  • ratings
  • Becoming the Narcissist's Nightmare

  • How to Devalue and Discard the Narcissist While Supplying Yourself
  • By: Shahida Arabi
  • Narrated by: Julie McKay
  • Length: 19 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 12
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 12

Although clinical research has been conducted on narcissism as a disorder, less is known about its effects on victims who are in toxic relationships with partners with Narcissistic Personality Disorder. Individuals with this disorder engage in chronic devaluation and manipulation of their partners, a psychological and emotional phenomenon known as "narcissistic abuse". Unfortunately, the full extent of what narcissistic abuse entails is not taught in any psychology class or diagnostic manual.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Your book is saving my life

  • By Liam on 02-03-2017

Garbage

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-08-2018

Robotic narrative of a repetitive dialogue- total waste of my time and money. Do yourself a favour and avoid!

  • The Tattooist of Auschwitz

  • By: Heather Morris
  • Narrated by: Richard Armitage
  • Length: 7 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2,692
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,475
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 2,476

The Tattooist of Auschwitz is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, two Slovakian Jews who survived Auschwitz and eventually made their home in Australia. In that terrible place, Lale was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - literally scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I didn' want it to end (I know that seems ghastly)

  • By Sarah on 30-04-2018

Riveting till the very end

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-07-2018

I simply could not stop listening to this amazing story of human disparity, triumph in the face of adversity and of course love.

To think that any human being has endured such a life is simply unimaginable- to hear it in their own words is a lesson in history and the strength of the human spirit.

The narration was exemplary- pitch perfect accents and timing.

I could not have enjoyed this book more. Simply amazing. Xxxx

  • Gracie's Secret

  • By: Jill Childs
  • Narrated by: Alison Campbell
  • Length: 8 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 16
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 17

Time stops for Jen when her beloved daughter, Gracie, is involved in a terrible car crash. Pronounced dead at the scene, it's a miracle when paramedics manage to then resuscitate the little girl. The relief Jen feels at Gracie's recovery is matched only by her fury at the driver of the car - her ex-husband's new girlfriend, Ella. Jen has never trusted Ella, and now her worst fears have been confirmed.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Overrated boring read

  • By Anonymous User on 13-07-2018

Overrated boring read

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-07-2018

I stuck it out until at least half way through, believing that with each new chapter it would finally take an unexpected twist and grab me...it didn’t. Annoying characters, annoying narration and dreadfully boring book. Save your money and skip this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 811
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 761
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 764

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Complex mystery, chilling theme

  • By Heidi (but books are better) on 07-05-2016

Totally riveting

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-01-2018

Anyone who lived their teen years through the 80s or 90s will relate to the setting and the music that shaped our young lives.

The writing is mature and the detail impeccably researched. The story unfolds with twists and turns which are breathtaking. I just couldn’t put this book down. Every spare moment was spent with my headphones on, listening to the perfectly pitched narratives of Jot, Lucy and Katy.

Thank you Holley Sedden for a thoroughly enjoyable read. I can’t wait to discover your other publications.

Sharon x