LISTENER

Richard

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 8
  • helpful votes
  • 90
  • ratings
  • The New Iberia Blues

  • By: James Lee Burke
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 15 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10

Detective Dave Robicheaux is fighting his demons to overcome his toughest case yet. There's something off about the relationship between mob boss Tony Nemo, local author Levon Broussard and New Orleans poster boy Jimmy Nightengale, and after a vicious assault, it's up to Robicheaux to uncover the truth. Complicating matters is the sudden death of T. J. Dartez, the New Iberian local responsible for Robicheaux's wife's death, and all are looking to the detective as the murderer. Can Robicheaux clear his name?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Like a good wine

  • By Richard on 19-01-2019

Like a good wine

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-01-2019

James Lee Burke is possibly the best writer living today. He just gets better and better. Will Patton has again performed to the highest standard, delivering with every word or sound that comes out of his mouth. Like a good wine, both narrator and writer improve with age. They never fail to entertain me and leave me yearning for the next instalment.

  • The Outsider

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 18 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 678
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 640
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 637

When an 11-year-old boy is found murdered, forensic evidence and reliable eyewitnesses undeniably point to the town's popular Little League coach. But the jailed suspect, arrested in a public spectacle, has an alibi, and further research convinces Detective Ralph Anderson that the coach was indeed out of town. So how can he have been in two places at the same time?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Awesome book. Awesome narration.

  • By Gregory Chijoff on 01-06-2018

Long live the King

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-06-2018

This is every bit as good as anything he has written to date. A brilliant Segway from the Bill Hodges trilogy.
Will Patton is my favourite for many reasons, all of which are on show in this audiobook. Keep delivering Will and I’ll keep buying. Love your work!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Uncommon Type

  • Some Stories
  • By: Tom Hanks
  • Narrated by: Tom Hanks
  • Length: 10 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 47
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 45

A collection of 17 wonderful short stories showing that Tom Hanks is as talented a writer as he is an actor. A gentle Eastern European immigrant arrives in New York City after his family and his life have been torn apart by his country's civil war. A man who loves to bowl rolls a perfect game - and then another and then another and then many more in a row until he winds up ESPN's newest celebrity, and he must decide if the combination of perfection and celebrity has ruined the thing he loves.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Rare Review

  • By soochoon on 30-01-2018

It was okay

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-10-2017

I found a few stories quite good but overall it was not very interesting.
I would not recommend it unless you were into short stories.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Sleeping Beauties

  • By: Stephen King, Owen King
  • Narrated by: Marin Ireland
  • Length: 25 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 187
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 175
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 175

In a future so real and near it might be now, something happens when women go to sleep: they become shrouded in a cocoon-like gauze. If they are awakened, if the gauze wrapping their bodies is disturbed or violated, the women become feral and spectacularly violent, and while they sleep they go to another place....

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Never thought I’d say this about a Stephen King...

  • By Brenda on 26-11-2017

It lacks a little something

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-10-2017

I found it hard going. The characters were very two dimensional and I didn’t care what happened to them. The story was preaching from a tired hymn book. It’s message was a cliche.

  • Lisey's Story

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Mare Winningham
  • Length: 18 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 54
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 49
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 49

Longlisted for the Audiobook Download of the Year, 2007.
Lisey Debusher Landon lost her husband, Scott, two years ago, after a 25-year marriage of the most profound and sometimes frightening intimacy. Scott was a celebrated, award-winning novelist and a complex man. Lisey knew there was a dark place where her husband ventured to face his demons. Boo'ya Moon is what Scott called it ¿ a realm that both terrified and healed him, that could eat him alive or give him the ideas he needed to write and live.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Repetitive and Uninteresting

  • By Shene on 21-09-2016

Boring

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-05-2017

I had trouble staying interested. The characters didn't capture my interest. I was flat out bothering to finish the thing.

  • Hardcore Self Help: F**k Depression

  • By: Robert Duff
  • Narrated by: Robert Duff
  • Length: 4 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 29
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 26

Hardcore Self Help: F**k Depression is the follow-up to the best-selling F**K Anxiety. In this book I take the information, tips, and insights that I have gained as a psychologist and translate them into language that doesn't suck. This is the self-help book for people who don't usually like self-help books. In Hardcore Self Help: F**K Depression, I talk to you like a friend. That means I speak directly to you, without psychobabble. Instead I tell you why your brain is such a troll.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Not just for mental health newbies

  • By Hartley on 20-11-2017

Awesomeness

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-01-2017

This book helped. For the first time in a very long time I get it. The book explained me to me in a language I understand. This should be compulsory in schools.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Fireman

  • By: Joe Hill
  • Narrated by: Kate Mulgrew
  • Length: 22 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 130
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 124
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 124

Some flames burn too brightly to be extinguished. This exceptional new thriller from Joe Hill is essential reading for 2016 and perfect for fans of Justin Cronin's The Passage. In a world overtaken by a deadly and dramatic new virus, Harper is determined to live long enough to deliver her baby. But when all it takes is a spark to start a deadly blaze, she's going to need some help from the mysterious fireman.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved it

  • By Justin on 07-07-2016

Somebody please shoot me.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-07-2016

I could not get into this book. I could not wait for it to end.
It was pointless and overly dramatic.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Drunken Fireworks

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Tim Sample
  • Length: 1 hr and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars 5
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    2.5 out of 5 stars 3

International number-one best-selling author Stephen King presents a brand-new, never-before-published, audio-only story. In this new tour de force from Stephen King - unavailable in print or any other format until November 2015 - a salt-of-the-earth Maine native recounts how a friendly annual summer fireworks show rivalry with his neighbour across the lake gradually spirals out of control...with explosive results.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • I wish I could get a Refund

  • By Richard on 09-09-2015

I wish I could get a Refund

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-09-2015

I love a good Stephen King novel. He rarely disappoint. Drunken Fireworks is not one of his better stories. It was just a waste of time. I wish I could get a refund.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful