LISTENER

Nadia David

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 22
  • ratings
  • Fire and Fury

  • By: Michael Wolff
  • Narrated by: Michael Wolff, Holter Graham
  • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 608
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 554
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 551

The first nine months of Donald Trump's term were stormy, outrageous - and absolutely mesmerising. Now, thanks to his deep access to the West Wing, best-selling author Michael Wolff tells the riveting story of how Trump launched a tenure as volatile and fiery as the man himself. In this explosive audiobook, Wolff provides a wealth of new details about the chaos in the Oval Office.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Steve Bannon's Revenge!!!

  • By yshoraka on 11-01-2018

Chaotic and without theory

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-02-2019

While interesting as a gossipy set of stories about Trump and ‘his people’, this book has no underlying theory or narrative and this leaves it rudderless. I lost track, frankly, of the players and found myself tuning out. Really well-read but lacking in structure and purpose.

  • Dead I Well May Be

  • By: Adrian McKinty
  • Narrated by: Gerard Doyle
  • Length: 12 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 27
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 25
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 25

Young Michael, an illegal immigrant escaping the troubles in Northern Ireland is strong and fearless and clever, just the fellow to be tapped by Darkey, a crime boss, to join a gang of Irish thugs struggling against the rising Dominican powers in Harlem and the Bronx. The time is pre-Giuliani New York, when crack rules the city, squatters live furtively in ruined buildings, and hundreds are murdered each month.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Not a patch on the Sean Duffy series.

  • By Karlene in Nz on 24-01-2019

Savage and beautiful

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-01-2019

McKinty’s writing just gets better and better. This is a violent, beautiful book and read perfectly by Gerard Doyle. Loved it.

  • Police at the Station and They Don’t Look Friendly

  • Detective Sean Duffy, Book 6
  • By: Adrian McKinty
  • Narrated by: Gerard Doyle
  • Length: 9 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 40
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 36
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 36

Belfast, 1988. A man is found dead, killed with a bolt from a crossbow in front of his house. This is no hunting accident. But uncovering who is responsible for the murder will take Detective Sean Duffy down his most dangerous road yet, a road that leads to a lonely clearing on a high bog where three masked gunmen will force Duffy to dig his own grave. Hunted by forces unknown, threatened by Internal Affairs, and with his relationship on the rocks, Duffy will need all his wits to get out of this investigation in one piece.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another cracking instalment.

  • By Michele on 22-03-2017

The best Duffy novel

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-09-2018

This is the stand out of the Duffy series. Gerard Doyle is fantastic and the story is as good as it gets. McKinty captures the Belfast of the time so beautifully it makes me want to visit immediately and never set foot in the place in equal measure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Body of Evidence

  • By: Patricia Cornwell
  • Narrated by: Lorelei King
  • Length: 9 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 50
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44

A reclusive author, Beryl Madison finds no safe haven from months of menacing phone calls - or the tormented feeling that her every move is being watched. When the writer is found slain in her own home, Kay Scarpetta pieces together the intricate forensic evidence - while unwittingly edging closer to a killer waiting in the shadows.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • By Anonymous User on 06-11-2018

A great crime novel

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-07-2018

Cornwell is a cracking crime writer and her stories are pretty addictive. Sometimes the dialogue is a bit cliched but the story and character development makes up for it. Her deep knowledge of forensics and pathology really set her apart. Lorelei King does a fantastic job with the narration too.

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 666
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 625
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 626

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Had me hooked

  • By Anonymous User on 18-07-2017

I couldn’t stop listening even when I wanted to

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-05-2018

This book is amazing. Unique, incredibly unsettling but totally compelling. Like a car crash, I dreaded what would come next but had to listen. The twists and turns are genius and the characters are so...human. The story has an ethereal, slightly unrealistic quality and this produces the dreamy nature of the book. But more like a nightmare.

  • The First Casualty

  • By: Peter Greste
  • Narrated by: Peter Greste
  • Length: 11 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7

In a world where the first casualty of war is truth, journalism has become the new battleground. Peter Greste spent two decades reporting from the front line in the world's most dangerous countries before making headlines himself following his own incarceration in an Egyptian prison. Charged with threatening national security, and enduring a sham trial, solitary confinement and detention for 400 days, Greste himself became a victim of the new global war on journalism.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Dense but worth it

  • By Nadia David on 28-04-2018

Dense but worth it

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-04-2018

Peter Greste writes both a memoir of his experiences as a political prisoner in Egypt but also a description and opinion on how Western societies have come to distrust and attack the media, despite the vital role a free media plays in democracy. It is at times very complex and dense, but Peter reads it like he’s talking with you and builds a well-argued case for the importance of a free press. It’s at times depressing (Trump, need I say more?) but tells a story that must be told - of the truth, of race and culture and religion, and of what it is to be accused of something you simply would never do.

  • Call Me by Your Name

  • A Novel
  • By: André Aciman
  • Narrated by: Armie Hammer
  • Length: 7 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 737
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 692
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 695

Call Me by Your Name first swept across the world in 2007. It is the story of a sudden and powerful romance that blossoms between an adolescent boy and a summer guest at his parents' cliffside mansion on the Italian Riviera. During the restless summer weeks, unrelenting but buried currents of obsession, fascination, and desire intensify their passion as they test the charged ground between them and verge toward the one thing both already fear they may never truly find again: total intimacy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • It made me cry

  • By Barrye Dickinson on 20-12-2017

Sexy, sensual and beautiful

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-2018

This book is so intimate and evocative I took to only listening to it when I was alone. Armie Hammer reads it beautifully and the descriptions of young love, Italy and summer are simply stunning. This book will hopefully make you remember your first intense love and the breathtaking beauty of intellect and acceptance.
A wonderful book for the open-minded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Free: Bob Honey Who Just Do Stuff
    
    
        By:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Pappy Pariah
    
    


    
    
        Narrated by:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Sean Penn,
    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Frances McDormand,
    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Ari Fliakos,
    
    
        and others
    


    
    Length: 2 hrs and 33 mins
    55 ratings
    Overall 3.3
  • Free: Bob Honey Who Just Do Stuff

  • By: Pappy Pariah
  • Narrated by: Sean Penn, Frances McDormand, Ari Fliakos, and others
  • Length: 2 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 55
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 45
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 45

By turns tender and terrifying, Bob Honey Who Just Do Stuff captures America on the verge of political upheaval in 2016 and introduces us to a man who just might be able to save us from the oncoming horror. Yes, Bob Honey - carnival carny, sewage specialist, and government operative, among other occupations - has spent years in preparation, crisscrossing the world in the employ of a mysterious government program that pays in small bills.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Production

  • By Lori on 14-11-2016

Worth investing a couple of hours!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-05-2017

A little bizarre but quite enthralling. A page turner in audio terms! Masterfully performed, it's like listening at the stage door of a play you couldn't afford tickets to performed by some of the best actors alive