LISTENER

Kellie Grealy

  • 18
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 25
  • ratings
  • The Troop

  • By: Nick Cutter
  • Narrated by: Corey Brill
  • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 33
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 31

Once every year, Scoutmaster Tim Riggs leads a troop of boys into the Canadian wilderness for a weekend camping trip - a tradition as comforting and reliable as a good ghost story around a roaring bonfre. The boys are a tight-knit crew. There’s Kent, one of the most popular kids in school; Ephraim and Max, also well-liked and easygoing; then there’s Newt the nerd and Shelley the odd duck. For the most part, they all get along and are happy to be there - which makes Scoutmaster Tim’s job a little easier.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • A modern Lord of the Flies

  • By Anonymous User on 13-09-2018

Very graffic and can be uncomfortable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-12-2017

This one is not for the faint heart for sure as said by Mr King. But it was so very interesting and I loved the characters. Great concept, read at your own risk.

  • In the Woods

  • By: Tana French
  • Narrated by: John McCormack
  • Length: 18 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 182
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 173
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 172

When he was twelve years old, Adam Ryan went playing in the woods one day with his two best friends. He never saw them again. Their bodies were never found, and Adam himself was discovered with his back pressed against an oak tree and his shoes filled with blood. He had no memory of what had happened. Twenty years on, Rob Ryan - the child who came back - is a detective in the Dublin police force. He's changed his name. No one knows about his past.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Good story

  • By Donna on 10-11-2016

Amazing

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-12-2017

Ooooooo this was a good one. Characters, story, mystery. Loved it completely. Voice performance very appropriate.

  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

  • By: Gail Honeyman
  • Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,508
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 3,230
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,219

Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive - but not how to live. Eleanor Oliphant leads a simple life. She wears the same clothes to work every day, eats the same meal deal for lunch every day and buys the same two bottles of vodka to drink every weekend. Eleanor Oliphant is happy. Nothing is missing from her carefully timetabled life. Except, sometimes, everything. One simple act of kindness is about to shatter the walls Eleanor has built around herself. Now she must learn how to navigate the world....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So much better than completely fine

  • By Bec on 29-10-2017

Good listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-11-2017

I didn't think it would be one I loved, but the characters are really great and the story non complex that I found myself really relaxing and enjoying it.

  • The Dinner

  • By: Herman Koch
  • Narrated by: Clive Mantle
  • Length: 8 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 27
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 26
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 26

A summer's evening in Amsterdam and two couples meet at a fashionable restaurant. Between mouthfuls of food and over the polite scrapings of cutlery, the conversation remains a gentle hum of polite discourse - the banality of work, the triviality of holidays. But behind the empty words, terrible things need to be said, and with every forced smile and every new course, the knives are being sharpened. Each couple has a fifteen-year-old son.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Dull story with an underwhelming twist

  • By Kristy on 11-01-2018

It was great

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-11-2017

I really enjoyed the voice performance!
The story kept me interested and character building was great.
Quick listen too!

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 650
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 611
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 612

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Had me hooked

  • By Anonymous User on 18-07-2017

Very good.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-10-2017

Lots of things happening in the book and I was interested until the last page.
Great audio performance.
Couldn't fault this purchase.

  • The Secret Keeper

  • By: Kate Morton
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 19 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40

England, 1959: Laurel Nicolson is 16 years old, dreaming alone in her childhood tree house during a family celebration at their home, Green Acres Farm. She spies a stranger coming up the long road to the farm and then observes her mother, Dorothy, speaking to him. And then she witnesses a crime.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Surprisingly addictive

  • By Megan on 26-04-2015

Captivating

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-09-2017

Great character depth.
Interesting story leaves you feeling fulfilled.
I just love this audio performer so I may be biased in that regard.

  • Big Little Lies

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 15 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,966
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,720
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,707

Pirriwee Public is a beautiful little beachside primary school where children are taught that 'sharing is caring.' So how has the annual School Trivia Night ended in full-blown riot? Sirens are wailing. People are screaming. The principal is mortified. And one parent is dead. Was it a murder, a tragic accident or just good parents gone bad? As the parents at Pirriwee Public are about to discover, sometimes it's the little lies that turn out to be the most lethal.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Earphones comfy? Go!!

  • By Natalie on 19-05-2015

Great Australian reading.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-09-2017

Speed through this listening.
Great story.
I personally love listening to this particular performer. Expecially Australian literature.

  • The Kite Runner

  • By: Khaled Hosseini
  • Narrated by: Khaled Hosseini
  • Length: 12 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 247
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 220
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 221

Why we think it’s a great listen: Never before has an author’s narration of his fiction been so important to fully grasping the book’s impact and global implications. Taking us from Afghanistan in the final days of its monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Their intertwined lives, and their fates, reflect the eventual tragedy of the world around them.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Enlightening and Sorrowful

  • By Jakki on 28-12-2018

A must read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-08-2017

After listening to this it has gone on my must read list when recommending books.
When I heard the audio sample I wasn't sure if I was going to connect with the authors voice, but it couldn't of been read by anyone better. Completely ties everything together perfectly.
Some really hard themes in the book but the story is brilliant and I felt enriched after finishing it.

  • The Power

  • By: Naomi Alderman
  • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh, Naomi Alderman, Thomas Judd, and others
  • Length: 12 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 427
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 398
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 396

'She throws her head back and pushes her chest forward and lets go a huge blast right into the centre of his body. The rivulets and streams of red scarring run across his chest and up around his throat. She'd put her hand on his heart and stopped him dead.' Suddenly - tomorrow or the day after - girls find that with a flick of their fingers, they can inflict agonizing pain and even death.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Next Big Thing

  • By Hilary on 21-09-2017

Omg

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-07-2017

Wow.... Intense. Interesting. Incredibly thought provoking and confronting.
Wonderful voice performance by all performers. Not for your casual Sunday read.

  • The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair

  • By: Joël Dicker
  • Narrated by: Robert Slade
  • Length: 20 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 129
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 119
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 118

August 30, 1975: the day of the disappearance. The day Somerset, New Hampshire, lost its innocence. That summer, struggling author Harry Quebert fell in love with 15-year-old Nola Kellergan. Thirty-three years later, her body is dug up from his yard, along with a manuscript copy of the novel that secured his lasting fame. Quebert is the only suspect. Marcus Goldman - Quebert’s most gifted protégé - throws off his writer’s block to clear his mentor’s name. Solving the case and penning a new best seller soon merge into one.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A story of love, intrigue and compassion

  • By Georgina D on 17-03-2019

Very good.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-07-2017

Brilliant! A complex Web of thoughts. I loved the twists and turns easy to follow but thrilling. The voice performance was perfect for the story.