LISTENER

Katie

  • 10
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 17
  • ratings

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-10-2020

Retold as a coming of age love story, I really enjoyed this version of Achilles and Patroclus. Even knowing how it would end, I still cried for the last hour and a half of the story, because I had connected with the characters so well. If you love young adult historical fiction, this is definitely worth a read.

Amazing!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-09-2020

Michael Sheen's performance was phenomenal. The story was exciting and so well written, classic Pullman! I'd give this 100 stars if I could!!

Wonderful

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-06-2020

Wonderful performance of a favourite book of mine. Enjoyed it immensely and definitely recommend for fans of Gaiman and Pratchett

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-03-2020

This book completely sucked me in. The narrator was brilliant, I loved her voice and she did a great job of giving each character a sound of their own. Absolutely loved it.

Hiddles is AMAZING!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-09-2019

I admit I only purchased this book so I could have Tom Hiddleston whispering in my ears but I'm happy to say it was also a great story. Hiddleston was PHENOMENALLY brilliant, voicing all the characters and being his usual brilliant self. The story was entertaining, though a little confusing at times, but I will definitely be getting book 2.

Genius in 260 characters or less

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-01-2019

Lin-Manuel Miranda's amazingly soothing voice reading his beautifully written pep talks from Twitter... how could this be any less than 5 stars. He is the gift that keeps on giving.
I listened to this as a whole, but now I'm going to listen to it again and bookmark the talks that spoke most deeply to me, so I can access them when I need them.
Do yourself a favour and one click this one without hesitation 💜

4.5 stars!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-01-2019

Oh my, this book makes me want to take to the streets and declare a war on the patriarchy and start burning stuff. Strong women, an awesome dog, Monty and Percy, crazy adventures, pirates and dragons... this book has it all.

The only reason for not giving it the full 5 stars is that l just didn't quite love it as much as The Gentleman's Guide. The adventures were still fantastic, the writing was brilliant and I did love Felicity, Sim and Johanna; they just weren't at Monty levels.

At the beginning I did dislike the narrator's voice for Monty, but only because the first books narration was so unbelievably perfect. And given that this was Felicitys book and the narrator is female, she did still do a really good job and I got used to it pretty quickly.

I wholeheartedly recommend this book! 💜

Breathtaking in its simplicity and heartbreak

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-11-2018

It's hard to put in to words the impact this book had on me. Such complex subjects that make a lot of people uncomfortable, but because they're seen through the eyes of a ten year old, they're handled with an innocence and naivete that are just so perfect. David Tennant... his performance and voice gave life to Jaime and the story in a way that I believe no other narrator could have done. He was truly phenomenal. I definitely recommend this book

So bloody brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-03-2018

The blurb for this book does not do it justice! I was not expecting to go on such an amazing journey of scandal, romance, highwaymen, Spanish prisons, magical alchemy hearts, pirates and more. Im going to have a book hangover for a while after this one. I truly wish that I could be friends with Monty, Percy and Felicity. Theyve left an imprint on me.

The naration.... my goodness it could not have been more perfect! So so good, each character given their own perfect tone, and read so beautifully. I am going to miss the sound of his voice in my ears. I can not recommend this book enough

2 people found this helpful

4.5 stars

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-03-2018

I was a fair way in to the book before I started feeling compelled to keep listening. The writing is beautiful, but because of the detail it makes it a really long story. The narrator took me a little to get used to, but I appreciated his performance and came to love his voice by the end. I know this seems like a negative review, but it honestly isnt. I came to love the characters, loved their development and the way they grew during the story. I laughed, felt my heartbreak several times and found the need to keep listening overwhelming. I definitely recommend this book and would urge you to keep listening if, like me, you find it difficult at the start. 4.5 stars