LISTENER

Linda

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 20
  • ratings
  • Evil Has a Name

  • The Untold Story of the Golden State Killer Investigation
  • By: Paul Holes, Jim Clemente, Peter McDonnell
  • Narrated by: Paul Holes, Jim Clemente
  • Length: 6 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 770
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 686
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 684

For his victims, for their families and for the investigators tasked with finding him, the senselessness and brutality of the Golden State Killer's acts were matched only by the powerlessness they felt at failing to uncover his identity. Then, on April 24, 2018, authorities arrested 72-year-old Joseph James DeAngelo at his home in Citrus Heights, Calif., based on DNA evidence linked to the crimes. Amazingly, it seemed, evil finally had a name. Please note: This work contains descriptions of violent crime and sexual assault and may not be suitable for all listeners.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Captivating

  • By Betty Mak on 09-01-2019

What a story!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-03-2019

This was a fascinating story to listened to and made all the more interesting by the fact that it actually happened. The personal accounts of the people involved were gripping. It’s has certainly peaked my interest in Genetic Genealogy. I could not stop listening. Definitely a book for a long road trip!

  • Why Did You Lie?

  • By: Yrsa Sigurdardottir
  • Narrated by: Katherine Manners
  • Length: 11 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 15
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 15
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 14

A standalone thriller from the prizewinning queen of Nordic noir and author of the Thora Gudmundsdottir series. A chilling thriller from the author of The Silence of the Sea, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel. A journalist on the track of an old case attempts suicide. An ordinary couple return from a house swap in the states to find their home in disarray and their guests seemingly missing.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Great Story...Average Delivery.

  • By Linda on 12-03-2019

Great Story...Average Delivery.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-03-2019

This is the first of Yrsa Sigurdardottir’s books that I have listened to. I really enjoyed the story, it was suspenseful and exciting. An audiobook’s narration can make or break the listening experience. I’m afraid I did not enjoy this narration.

  • Everything Is Lies

  • By: Helen Callaghan
  • Narrated by: Anna Popplewell, Sian Thomas
  • Length: 11 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,147
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,065
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,057

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Everything Is Lies by Helen Callaghan. Sophia's parents lead quiet, unremarkable lives. At least that is what she's always believed. Until the day she arrives at her childhood home to find a house ringing with silence. Her mother is hanging from a tree. Her father is lying in a pool of his own blood, near to death. The police are convinced it is an attempted murder-suicide. But Sophia is sure that the woman who brought her up isn't a killer....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Genuinely Thrilling

  • By steellyn on 24-03-2018

Gripping Stuff!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-08-2018

Couldn’t put this one down (or at least turn it off)! Well written, suspenseful and with an ending I didn’t see coming. A thoroughly enjoyable read.... I’m off the purchase Helen’s others book!

  • The Scarred Woman

  • Department Q, Book 7
  • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 17 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 41
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 39
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 36

The international number one best seller returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. In a Copenhagen park, the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these acts of violence be related?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • It was entertaining but not his best work!

  • By Linda on 20-05-2018

It was entertaining but not his best work!

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-05-2018

Not a bad read but probably not one of Jussi’s better works. I think I enjoyed this latest installation of the Department Q Series the least of all 7 so far. It tended to drag on in parts (lose momentum a little). I’ve listened to Saul Reichlin read the Millennium Series before now and thought he was great! I still can’t go past Steven Pacey for narrating the Department Q Series though! Bring him back for Book 8 when it’s released!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Hanging Girl

  • Department Q, Book 6
  • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • Narrated by: Graeme Malcolm
  • Length: 15 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 38
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38

In the middle of a hard-won morning nap in the basement of police headquarters, Carl Mørck, head of Department Q, receives a call from a colleague working on the Danish island of Bornholm. Carl is dismissive at first, but then he receives some shocking news. Carl then has no choice but to lead Department Q into the tragic cold case of a vivacious 17-year-old girl who vanished from school, only to be found dead hanging high up in a tree.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointed

  • By Justin on 06-01-2019

Mixed Review

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-04-2018

Having listened to and thoroughly enjoyed the first 5 books in the Department Q series read by the talented Steven Pacey and all his wonderful dialects. It was difficult to adjust to Carl Morck, Assad, Rose and the rest of the regular cast sounding completely different. The current narration was by no means terrible, just not what I had come to enjoying hearing! Why the change?

  • Mercy

  • Department Q, Book 1
  • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
  • Length: 13 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 96
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 89
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 90

The unabridged, digital audiobook edition of Jussi Adler-Olsen’s Mercy, Scandinavia’s new bestselling crime phenomenon. Read by the actor Steven Pacey. At first the prisoner scratches at the walls until her fingers bleed. But there is no escaping the room. With no way of measuring time, her days, weeks, months go unrecorded. She vows not to go mad. She will not give her captors the satisfaction.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Give it time to warm up!

  • By Tracey on 12-03-2016

Fantastic Read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-01-2018

This is the first time I have listened to any of Jussi Adler-Olsen’s books and I wasn’t disappointed. The story line was gripping and suspenseful and occasionally rather amusing ☺️! I have listened to books read by Steven Pacey before and he is an excellent narrator.. one of the best! Highly recommend this book!

  • Coffin Road

  • By: Peter May
  • Narrated by: Peter Forbes
  • Length: 10 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 161
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 155
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 156

A man stands bewildered on a deserted beach on the Hebridean Isle of Harris. He cannot remember who he is. The only clue to his identity is a folded map of a path named the Coffin Road. He does not know where this search will take him. A detective from Lewis sits aboard a boat, filled with doubt. DS George Gunn knows that a bludgeoned corpse has been discovered on a remote rock 20 miles offshore. He does not know if he has what it takes to uncover how and why.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastically read

  • By Mrs on 12-04-2016

Super Read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-02-2017

Another great work from Peter May! Well thought out storyline that kept me in suspense the whole time.

  • The Wrong Side of Goodbye

  • Harry Bosch, Book 19
  • By: Michael Connelly
  • Narrated by: Titus Welliver
  • Length: 10 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 227
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 213
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 214

Only Harry Bosch can uncover LA's darkest secrets in this new gripping thriller from global best seller Michael Connelly. Read by Titus Welliver, star of Bosch. 'What do you want me to do?' Bosch asked again. 'I want you to find someone for me,' Vance said. 'Someone who might not have ever existed.' Harry Bosch is working as a part-time detective in the town of San Fernando outside of Los Angeles when he gets the invitation to meet with the ageing aviation billionaire Whitney Vance.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great yarn, as always.

  • By Shaun Hughes on 02-07-2017

Harry Bosch at his best!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-01-2017

Another great read from Michael Connelly! Couldn't put it down...had to know what happened next!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful