LISTENER

Amazon Customer

  • 26
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 83
  • ratings
  • Misfortune Teller

  • Sasha Urban Series, Book 2
  • By: Dima Zales, Anna Zaires
  • Narrated by: Emily Durante
  • Length: 8 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7

So I’m a seer. A Cognizant under the Mandate. Life should be easy now, right? Wrong. With all the “accidents” that keep befalling me, I’ll be lucky to survive the week. That is, if my crazy boss doesn’t work me to death first.... 

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Pfft!

  • By Amazon Customer on 09-03-2019

Pfft!

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-03-2019

This story is odviously a filler book. Not quite enough story for all three books.

Could have done with out the 'Copperfield' referances as well.

All in all this is a disappointment.

  • Letters to My Daughters

  • By: Emma Hannigan
  • Narrated by: Michele Moran
  • Length: 13 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 6

To sisters Bea, Jeannie and Rose, the death of their beloved childhood nanny is a devastating loss. As the girls grew up, Nanny May had become so much more to them all: confidante, advocate, comforter, friend. In whom will they confide their hopes, fears and failures now she has gone? Especially now each sister needs a mother's wisdom more than ever....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • If you can get through the start...

  • By Amazon Customer on 11-02-2019

If you can get through the start...

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-02-2019

If you can get though the start of this story it turned out to be a enjoyable one.

Hated the mother in this story. What a self I indulgent pig but the others were amazing.

Think we would all love a Nanny May.

  • Finding You

  • Destination Love, Book 3
  • By: Jo Watson
  • Narrated by: Carly Robins
  • Length: 9 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3

Jane is fed up of being the odd one out in her adoptive family. So in a very un-Jane-like move, she books a last-minute ticket to find her birth father - and the real Jane. Armed with the knowledge that he was a tour guide called Dimitri and multiple boxes of condoms from her mother (#cringe), she sets off. It turns out that everyone in Greece is called Dimitri, including her very own sexy tour guide, who strikes her a deal. He'll help if she goes on an adventure with him. The old Jane never would have risked a holiday romance, but the new Jane has other ideas.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • It's a lot like the others

  • By Amazon Customer on 28-01-2019

It's a lot like the others

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-01-2019

It's still a lot like the others in the series but I still enjoyed it. Got a giggle out of it what more do you want?

  • My Husband's Wives

  • By: Faith Hogan
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lennon
  • Length: 9 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4

Paul Starr, Ireland's leading cardiologist, dies in a car crash with a young woman by his side. United in their grief and the love of one man, four women are thrown together in an attempt to come to terms with life after Paul. They soon realise they never really knew him at all. As they begin to form unlikely friendships, Paul's death is the catalyst that enables them to become the people they always wanted to be. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Kept coming up on Amazon Recommends

  • By Amazon Customer on 06-01-2019

Kept coming up on Amazon Recommends

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-01-2019

This book kept coming up on my Amazon Recommends list. It didn't impresire me to read it.

Turns out I was wrong, lots of twists and turns I got sucked in pretty quickly. This story is about family, not your regular Mum, Dad and the kids variety. A love story of a different kind. Loved it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Woman Who Knew Everything

  • By: Debbie Viggiano
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 9 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1

‘She couldn’t remember the last time they’d stared at each other with dewy eyes over the cornflakes, or when they’d last tumbled into bed and bonked like spring bunnies, but they loved each other. Didn’t they?’ Chrissie, Dee and Amber each feel a marriage proposal is overdue from their respective boyfriends. When the women are invited to a birthday soirée – complete with fortune teller – the girls know there is only one question they’ll be asking Madam Rosa: will their men be popping the question? But opting to see a clairvoyant is a bit like opening Pandora’s box. Some revelations are a joy, whereas others are most definitely not. Sometimes you have to be careful what you wish for…. Best-selling romance author Debbie Viggiano’s delightful, satirical take on life and relationships. This audiobook will particularly appeal to fans of Adele Parks and Mhairi Mcfarlane.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A bit of fun

  • By Amazon Customer on 23-12-2018

A bit of fun

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-12-2018

Loved the three main characters - Amber, Chrissy, and Dee. Giggles, tears and a heart warming ending makes the story complete.

Worth a read.

  • A Spark of Light

  • By: Jodi Picoult
  • Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
  • Length: 12 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 89
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 82
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 81

The Center for women's reproductive health offers a last chance at hope - but nobody ends up there by choice. Its very existence is controversial, and to the demonstrators who barricade the building every day, the service it offers is no different from legalised murder. Now life and death decisions are being made horrifyingly real: a lone protester with a gun has taken the staff, patients and visitors hostage.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Not Picoult's best

  • By Arna Attewell on 08-02-2019

It didn't finish....

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-12-2018

I felt that there was still to many questions at the end.

To many questions about pivotal characters... What happened to Elizabeth, Izzy and Joy? Did the clinic reopen?

The story will make you angry, sad and amazed at times. There was some parts that lingered just a little too much. Not one of my favourites from Jodi Picoult.

  • Perfect Daughter

  • By: Amanda Prowse
  • Narrated by: Amanda Prowse
  • Length: 8 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 7
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6

Jackie loves her family. Sure, her teenage children can be stroppy. Her husband a little lazy. And providing round-the-clock care for her Alzheimer's-ridden mother is exhausting. All Jackie wants is for her children to have brighter futures than she did. So long as Martha, the eldest, gets into university and follows her dreams, all her sacrifice will be worth something...won't it?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Failure

  • By Amazon Customer on 02-12-2018

Failure

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-12-2018

Story was so predictable that I found myself guessing the plot before it all happened.

Audio dropped out a couple of times on this one.

Pretty disappointed as other books by this author have been good.

  • The Invisible Library

  • By: Genevieve Cogman
  • Narrated by: Susan Duerden
  • Length: 10 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 20
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 17

Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, which harvests fiction from different realities. And along with her enigmatic assistant, Kai, she's posted to an alternative London. Their mission: to retrieve a dangerous book. But when they arrive, it's already been stolen. London's underground factions seem prepared to fight to the very death to find her book.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • awful narrator

  • By Sherilyn Tasker on 06-12-2016

Slow

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-11-2018

Story was slow to start, it got there in the end... The last few chapters were the best. Will read the next book though.

  • Rosemary and Rue

  • An October Daye Novel, Book 1
  • By: Seanan McGuire
  • Narrated by: Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Length: 11 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19

The world of Faerie never disappeared: it merely went into hiding, continuing to exist parallel to our own. Secrecy is the key to Faerie’s survival—but no secret can be kept forever, and when the fae and mortal worlds collide, changelings are born. Half-human, half-fae, outsiders from birth, these second-class children of Faerie spend their lives fighting for the respect of their immortal relations.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brand new Daye

  • By Dandylion on 22-01-2014

Slow burner

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-11-2018

Took quite a few chapters to get into this story. To much explaining stuff that didn't impact on the overall story.

On the end I really enjoyed it and can't wait for the next one.

  • Strange Practice

  • A Dr Greta Helsing Novel
  • By: Vivian Shaw
  • Narrated by: Suzannah Hampton
  • Length: 9 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12

Meet Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead. After inheriting a highly specialised and highly peculiar medical practice, Dr Helsing spends her days treating London's undead for a host of ills: vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights and entropy in mummies. Although barely making ends meet, this is the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta's dreamed of since childhood. But when a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human and undead alike, Greta must use her unusual skills to keep her supernatural clients - and the rest of London - safe.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Compelling

  • By Karen Campbell on 03-11-2018

Different Good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-10-2018

Loved this book. The story is well written and keeps you entertained till the very end. I couldn't stop listening.

I loved the characters that they weren't 'vanilla' and the change of the predictable good versus evil.

Can't wait to listen to the next book.