LISTENER

Jo howard

  • 29
  • reviews
  • 4
  • helpful votes
  • 31
  • ratings
  • Boy Swallows Universe

  • By: Trent Dalton
  • Narrated by: Stig Wemyss
  • Length: 16 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,159
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,064
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,069

Brisbane, 1983: A lost father, a mute brother, a mum in jail, a heroin dealer for a stepfather and a notorious criminal for a babysitter. It's not as if Eli's life isn't complicated enough already. He's just trying to follow his heart, learning what it takes to be a good man, but life just keeps throwing obstacles in the way - not least of which is Tytus Broz, legendary Brisbane drug dealer. But Eli's life is about to get a whole lot more serious. He's about to fall in love. And oh yeah, he has to break into Boggo Road Gaol on Christmas Day, to save his mum.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Hard to press stop!

  • By Anonymous User on 08-10-2018

Brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-03-2019

I really loved this book. It’s one of those ones that you carry with you. It did lose momentum towards the end which was my only disappointment because it felt like it was building up beautifully. It didn’t peak but it was still really great. Such a brilliant portrayal of Aussie culture in the 70’s-80’s. I’m an Aussie so I could really relate and empathise. Highly recommend.

  • The Kind Worth Killing

  • By: Peter Swanson
  • Narrated by: Karen White, Keith Szarabajka, Johnny Heller, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 39
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 35

'Hello there.' I looked at the pale, freckled hand on the back of the empty bar seat next to me in the business class lounge of Heathrow Airport, then up into the stranger's face. 'Do I know you?' Delayed in London, Ted Severson meets a woman at the airport bar. Over cocktails they tell each other rather more than they should, and a dark plan is hatched - but is either of them being serious? Could they actually go through with it? And if they did, what would be their chances of getting away with it?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Really messes with your mind

  • By Heidi (but books are better) on 03-08-2017

Fantastic!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-03-2019

A great read. Lots of twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. Fantastic chats tie and narrator was great. I recommend this book.

  • The Other Woman

  • By: Sandie Jones
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 47
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 45
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45

The Other Woman by debut author Sandie Jones is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Frances' The Girlfriend and B A Paris' Behind Closed Doors. There's nothing that this mother wouldn't do for her son.... Emily thinks Adam's perfect: the man she always hoped but never thought she'd meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival, a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves. A mother whose love for her son knows no bounds.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story

  • By Anonymous User on 09-11-2018

Pick your mother in-law wisely! Or your husband...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-03-2019

This was an awesome read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The lengths people go to to protect the ones you love is undeniably powerful in this one. I definitely recommend this book.

  • The Rumour

  • By: Lesley Kara
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Sian Thomas, Roy McMillan
  • Length: 7 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 48
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 44

Rumour has it that a notorious child killer is living under a new identity, in their sleepy little town of Flinstead-on-Sea. Sally McGowan was just 10 years old when she stabbed little Robbie Harris to death 48 years ago - no photos of her exist since her release as a young woman. So who is the supposedly reformed killer who now lives among them? How dangerous can one rumour become? And how far will Joanna go to protect her loved ones from harm, when she realises what it is she’s unleashed?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Shocking!

  • By Rachael on 17-02-2019

A gossipy easy to read book

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-03-2019

Great characters and story line. It kept me interested throughout and there were lots of twists and turns that I didn’t predict which was nice. I’d recommend this book.

  • The Silent Patient

  • By: Alex Michaelides
  • Narrated by: Louise Brealey, Jack Hawkins
  • Length: 8 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 112
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 108
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 108

The Silent Patient is a shocking psychological thriller of a woman's act of violence against her husband - and of the man obsessed with uncovering her motive.... Famous artist Alicia Berenson shoots her husband in the head five times and then never speaks again. Five years later, forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber must find a way to get Alicia to talk if he wants to treat her. Only then can he unravel the shocking events of that tragic night five years before....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Highly recommend

  • By Jo howard on 31-03-2019

Highly recommend

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-03-2019

I listen to loads of books. This is by far the best I’ve listened to this year. It just kept me wanting more and I was so sad to have it end. Beautifully written and the narrator was next level!!! Thank you! I love coming across these :)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 13 Minutes

  • By: Sarah Pinborough
  • Narrated by: Rosie Jones
  • Length: 10 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 54
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 52
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 51

I was dead for 13 minutes. I don't remember how I ended up in the icy water, but I do know this - it wasn't an accident, and I wasn't suicidal. They say you should keep your friends close and your enemies closer, but when you're a teenage girl, it's hard to tell them apart. My friends love me, I'm sure of it. But that doesn't mean they didn't try to kill me. Does it? 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough is a gripping psychological thriller about people, fears, manipulation and the power of the truth.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing - could not stop

  • By Carli on 11-03-2018

High school drama

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-03-2019

This is definitely a young adult fiction about the nastiness and trying to fit in someplace in the high school years. It’s disturbing and on the extreme side at times. It was an ok story for me.

  • Little Fires Everywhere

  • By: Celeste Ng
  • Narrated by: Jennifer Lim
  • Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 575
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 509
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 508

The brilliant new novel from the author of the New York Times best seller Everything I Never Told You. Everyone in Shaker Heights was talking about it that summer: how Isabelle, the last of the Richardson children, had finally gone around the bend and burned the house down. In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is meticulously planned - from the layout of the winding roads to the colours of the houses to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Worth committing to

  • By Anonymous User on 17-06-2018

It was just ok

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-03-2019

I wasn’t overly impressed by this book. It was just ok in my opinion. I could empathise with the families and situations but I’m not sure I got out of it what was intended. It was like being in a go kart with a broken accelerator. I was excited but it just didn’t happen for me.

  • Behind Her Eyes

  • By: Sarah Pinborough
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck, Josie Dunn, Bea Holland, and others
  • Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 633
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 582
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 578

Since her husband walked out, Louise has made her son her world, supporting them both with her part-time job. But all that changes when she meets...David. Young, successful and charming - Louise cannot believe a man like him would look at her twice let alone be attracted to her. But that all comes to a grinding halt when she meets his wife...Adele. Beautiful, elegant and sweet - Louise's new friend seems perfect in every way.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • outstanding

  • By anthony on 09-04-2017

Loved it!!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-12-2018

I tried to guess the ending knowing there was something coming and I did not guess that!!! So fantastic and refreshing with something a little different.

  • Pride and Prejudice

  • By: Jane Austen
  • Narrated by: Rosamund Pike
  • Length: 11 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 519
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 476
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 475

One of Jane Austen’s most beloved works, Pride and Prejudice, is vividly brought to life by Academy Award nominee Rosamund Pike ( Gone Girl). In her bright and energetic performance of this British classic, she expertly captures Austen’s signature wit and tone. Her attention to detail, her literary background, and her performance in the 2005 feature film version of the novel provide the perfect foundation from which to convey the story of Elizabeth Bennett, her four sisters, and the inimitable Mr. Darcy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wonderful reading of a gorgeous book

  • By Belinda on 23-08-2016

Beautifully Narrated

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-12-2018

A lovely story as we know. The narrative of this book was impeccable. She drew me into the world and people of back then.

  • Something in the Water

  • By: Catherine Steadman
  • Narrated by: Catherine Steadman
  • Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 390
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 364
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 365

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with a bright future. They seem to have it all - until Mark loses his job and cracks start to appear in their perfect life. But they’re determined to make it work. They book their dream honeymoon and trust that things will work out - after all, they have each other. Could the life of your dreams turn out to be a nightmare?  

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyed but......

  • By Annie on 04-08-2018

Really enjoyed it

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-11-2018

Great story. It kept me wanting more the entire listen. I think I wanted it to go in other places but it satisfied nonetheless. Great narration by the author too. I’m really fussy with narration.