LISTENER

Anonymous

  • 6
  • reviews
  • 14
  • helpful votes
  • 9
  • ratings
  • And So It Begins

  • By: Rachel Abbott
  • Narrated by: Olivia Vinall
  • Length: 9 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 16
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 14

Cleo knows she should be happy for her brother Mark. He's managed to find someone new after the sudden death of his first wife - but something about Evie just doesn't feel right...When Evie starts having accidents at home, her friends grow concerned. Could Mark be causing her injuries? Called out to their clifftop house one night, Sergeant Stephanie King finds two bodies entangled on blood-drenched sheets. Where does murder begin? When the knife is raised to strike, or before, at the first thought of violence?

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Slow, drawl, unconvincing

  • By Anonymous User on 27-11-2018

Slow, drawl, unconvincing

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-11-2018

This story focuses on three protagonists across years of a timeline. The story is confusing, the twist is obvious, the plot is unreasonable. I kept listening to this because of the great reviews hoping for it to get better and by the time the twist happened and the majority of the plot was revealed it was just not worth waiting for.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Then She Was Gone

  • By: Lisa Jewell
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister
  • Length: 10 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36

A missing girl. A buried secret. From the acclaimed author of I Found You and the Richard & Judy best seller The Girls comes a compulsively twisty psychological thriller that will keep you gripped to the very last moment. She was 15, her mother's golden girl. She had her whole life ahead of her. And then, in the blink of an eye, Ellie was gone. Ten years on, Laurel has never given up hope of finding Ellie. And then she meets a charming and charismatic stranger who sweeps her off her feet.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • I feel a bit dumber now

  • By Amazon Customer on 26-05-2018

Awful. Just awful.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-11-2018

I honestly couldn’t make it through more than half of this book. A majority of it seems to be filled with filler like listing multiple things for a paragraph. The story itself is told through an unpalatable and jarring nonsensical timeline.

  • The Next Girl: Detective Gina Harte, Book 1

  • By: Carla Kovach
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 9 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 64
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 59
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 59

Deborah Jenkins pulls her coat around her as she sets out on her short walk home in the pouring rain. But she never makes it home that night. And she is never seen again.

Four years later, an abandoned baby girl is found wrapped in dirty rags on a doorstep. An anonymous phone call urges the police to run a DNA test on the baby. But nobody is prepared for the results. The newborn belongs to Deborah. She’s still alive.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Unexpectedly loved it

  • By Anonymous User on 09-11-2018

Unexpectedly loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-11-2018

While I didn’t feel the story was all that thrilling I managed to stay very entertained throughout. The twists weren’t much of a twist but the story was gripping and the thrills definitely thrilling. I found myself holding my breath eyes wide open during the tensest moments.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Other Woman

  • By: Sandie Jones
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 47
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 45
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45

The Other Woman by debut author Sandie Jones is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Frances' The Girlfriend and B A Paris' Behind Closed Doors. There's nothing that this mother wouldn't do for her son.... Emily thinks Adam's perfect: the man she always hoped but never thought she'd meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival, a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves. A mother whose love for her son knows no bounds.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story

  • By Anonymous User on 09-11-2018

I thought it would be less predictable

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-11-2018

Given all the amazing ratings I thought it would be a thrilling unbelievably twisty story. But I found the “twists” predictable and obvious and some of the reasons for a character to stay silent about explosive information to be a little preposterous.

The only redeeming factor of this book was the excellent narration. The ending fell a little flat and was a little ridiculous.

  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

  • By: Gail Honeyman
  • Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,696
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 3,405
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,395

Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive - but not how to live. Eleanor Oliphant leads a simple life. She wears the same clothes to work every day, eats the same meal deal for lunch every day and buys the same two bottles of vodka to drink every weekend. Eleanor Oliphant is happy. Nothing is missing from her carefully timetabled life. Except, sometimes, everything. One simple act of kindness is about to shatter the walls Eleanor has built around herself. Now she must learn how to navigate the world....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So much better than completely fine

  • By Bec on 29-10-2017

Awful voice actress

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-10-2018

I couldn’t get to the story because of the voice actress. It was a very poor choice. The accent was just too strong to make it palatable for myself. I’ll stick to reading the book.

  • Nine Perfect Strangers

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 19 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 881
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 816
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 812

Could 10 days at a health resort really change you forever? Nine perfect strangers are about to find out.... The 10-day retreat at boutique health-and-wellness resort Tranquillum House promises healing and transformation. Nine stressed city dwellers are keen to drop their literal and mental baggage and absorb the blissful meditative ambience while enjoying their hot stone massages. They are all on a path to a better way of living. Or at least a better waistline.... 

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By srouch on 30-09-2018

It’s unfortunate such interesting characters were wasted on such a preposterous plot

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-09-2018

I’m frustrated that I put in the hours committing to the lives of these characters only to have the story drive itself into a ridiculous plot.

So much of the novel is wasted on the transformations.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful