LISTENER

Amazon Customer

Ringwood, Australia
  • 14
  • reviews
  • 9
  • helpful votes
  • 22
  • ratings
  • The Eagle and the Wolves

  • Eagles of the Empire, Book 4
  • By: Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 12 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 47
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 43
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 42

The Eagle and the Wolves is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. It's AD 44, and Vespasian and the Second Legion are forging ahead in their campaign to seize the southwest of Britain. Macro and newly appointed centurion Cato are ordered to provide Verica, ruler of the Atrebatans, with an army.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • another ripper

  • By Jeremy on 08-03-2019

Don't go backwards!!!

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-03-2017

Somewhat disappointing. Love Jonathan Keeble but allowing this to be published on audible after invader and also after Cato an Macro have gone through many adventures, didn't allow for Cato to be as "junior" a centurion as I would have hoped. Just proves that books should be published in order. And, with the introduction of the Invader series before this was "audibled"!! Doesn't help. Love the Figulus character and the overlap is good but it's all got a bit higgledepiggldldy, if you know what I mean??????

  • The Guilty

  • By: David Baldacci
  • Narrated by: Kyf Brewer, Orlagh Cassidy
  • Length: 11 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 179
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 162
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 159

When Special Agent Will Robie gets the call to make his first visit home since he was a teenager, it's because his father, the local judge, has been arrested for murdering a man who came before him in court. The small, remote Mississippi town hasn't changed, and its residents remember Robie as a wild sports star and girl magnet. He left a lot of hearts broken and a lot of people angry. Will and his father, Dan, are estranged, and his mother left years ago.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • CAN RECOMMEND

  • By Noelene on 26-11-2015

Very good.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-11-2016

Not heard Kyf before but thought he did a great job. Must admit, I still think Ron Mclarty and Orla Cassidy are and awesome combination. Wonder why Ron isn't doing this any more???

Regardless, great story and wonderful performances.....more Will and Jessica please !!!!

  • Memory Man

  • By: David Baldacci
  • Narrated by: Ron McLarty, Orlagh Cassidy
  • Length: 13 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 336
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 309
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 305

Amos Decker is a former professional football player whose career was ended by a terrible hit. Now a police detective, Amos is still haunted by a side effect from the accident he can never forget. One night Decker comes home from a stakeout to find his wife, young daughter, and brother-in-law horrifically murdered. Obviously scarred and nearly broken, Decker has to use his skills as a detective and his unusual brain capacity to try to catch the monster who killed his family.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great soo good

  • By Jeremiah on 06-07-2015

Hmmmm

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-06-2016

A bit weird as to why the main character was linked to all the fatalities. Kept thinking what has this got to with him and why would this happen. Tenuous at best. preferred David Baldacci's last character.

However, Ron Mclarty and Orlagh Cassidy are awesome as always!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Wolf's Gold: Empire V

  • By: Anthony Riches
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 13 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18

Fresh from their victory in Germania, Marcus Aquila and the Tungrians have been sent to Dacia, on the northeastern edge of the Roman Empire, with the mission to safeguard a major source of imperial power. The mines of Alburnus Major contain enough gold to pave the road to Rome. They would make a mighty prize for the marauding Sarmatae tribesmen who threaten the province, and the outnumbered auxiliaries are entrusted with their safety in the face of a barbarian invasion.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant..twists turns, fights intrigue etc.

  • By Amazon Customer on 27-02-2016

Brilliant..twists turns, fights intrigue etc.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-02-2016

Another beauty!! Great story and a welcome respite per se from the trials and tribulations of MTC/ MVA... Great work again Mr Reichlin. your accents are fabulous and your story telling is unsurpassed. My Dad was an average story teller with me and I tried so much harder with mine...If you have children of your own, Mr Reichlin...they are truly blessed!!

  • The Blood Crows

  • Eagles of the Empire, Book 12
  • By: Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 13 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 41
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41

From the best-selling author of Centurion, The Gladiator and Praetorian, a new military adventure for battle-hardened centurions Macro and Cato, fighting for the Empire in Britannia. For nearly ten years, the Roman Empire has fought ceaselessly to strengthen its hold over Britannia. But opposition from native tribes led by the ruthless warrior Caratacus threatens to destroy everything. Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro are summoned by Governor Ostorius to Londinium....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Another great chapter for the duo

  • By kevinplee@hotmail.com on 26-10-2018

Awesome I love anything Simon Scarrow does.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-05-2015

I continue to enjoy this author. while I like Anthony Riches and Douglas Jackson this guy has no equal.

  • The Mozart Conspiracy

  • Ben Hope, Book 2
  • By: Scott Mariani
  • Narrated by: Colin Mace
  • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 8
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7

From the number-one best-selling author. Former SAS operative Ben Hope is running for his life. Enlisted by the beautiful Leigh Llewellyn - world-famous opera star and Ben's first love - to investigate her brother's mysterious death, Ben finds himself caught up in a centuries-old puzzle. The official line states that Oliver died whilst investigating Mozart's death, but the facts don't add up.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Just a little predictable, unfotunately.

  • By Amazon Customer on 19-05-2015

Just a little predictable, unfotunately.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-05-2015

Boy loses girl meets girl again and from then on......well. Good performance though although I do not like the ziss vith zat of a German/Austrian accent.

  • Leopard Sword: Empire IV

  • By: Anthony Riches
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 13 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18

Britannia has been subdued - and an epic new chapter in Marcus Valerius Aquila's life begins. The murderous Roman agents who nearly captured Marcus have been defeated by his friends. But in order to protect those very friends from the wrath of the emperor, he must leave the province that has been giving him shelter. As Marcus Tribulus Corvus, centurion of the second Tungrian auxiliary cohort, he leads his men from Hadrian's Wall to the Tungrians' original home in Germania Inferior.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Good story.

  • By Amazon Customer on 28-04-2015

Good story.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-04-2015

I suppose I should have taken in the synopsis. This is less about Marcus and more about the heroism of the leadership.of the band. Still a great and well researched yarn though. Loved it. I do enjoy the narrator, he's awesome!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Templar Legacy

  • A Novel
  • By: Steve Berry
  • Narrated by: Paul Michael
  • Length: 15 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 31
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 31

The ancient order of the Knights Templar possessed untold wealth and absolute power over kings and popes until the Inquisition, when they were wiped from the face of the earth, their hidden riches lost. But now two forces vying for the treasure have learned that it is not at all what they thought it was, and its true nature could change the modern world.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Not for the faint-hearted.

  • By Amazon Customer on 22-04-2015

Not for the faint-hearted.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-04-2015

1st - Paul Michael is an xcellent narrator. His accents are excellent and his pronunciation of French words is spot on.

This is a very thought provoking story extremely well researched and delivered with panache. I look forward to many more by Steve Berry.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Arrows of Fury: Empire ll

  • By: Anthony Riches
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 13 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 24
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 23
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 23

The Battle of the Lost Eagle saved Hadrian's Wall, but the new Roman governor of Britannia must stamp out the rebellion of the northern tribes or risk losing the province. Rampaging south with sword and flame under the command of their murderous chieftain Calgus, they have stretched his forces to the limit. For Marcus - now simply Centurion Corvus of the 1st Tungrian cohort - the campaign has become doubly dangerous.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Another good one!

  • By Amazon Customer on 17-04-2015

Another good one!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-04-2015

The narrator is excellent. Makes the story come alive. If there is any criticism it is only that the battle scenes can go on a little long. I did feel myself wanting them split up a little more. Loved the end though sets it up for another beauty!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Wounds of Honour

  • Empire I
  • By: Anthony Riches
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 13 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 28
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 24
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 22

Thrilling, authentic, and action packed, this novel introduces soldier hero Marcus Valerius: a centurion stationed on Hadrian's Wall in the second century during a revolt against the Roman Empire. Marcus Valerius Aquila has scarcely landed in Britannia when he has to run for his life - condemned to dishonorable death by power-crazed emperor Commodus. The plan is to take a new name, serve in an obscure regiment on Hadrian's Wall, and lie low until he can hope for justice.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great start to a new series.

  • By Amazon Customer on 12-05-2018

On a serious par with Simon Scarrow

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-04-2015

Gret intro story and has set up for future adventures. Excellent narration!! Loved it

0 of 1 people found this review helpful