We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
How to Hang a Witch Audiobook

How to Hang a Witch

Regular Price:$53.37
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern-day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem's past.

Salem, Massachusetts, is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials, and almost immediately she becomes the enemy of a group of girls that call themselves the Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well, technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries-old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hung. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem, but as Sam and her frenemies soon find, history may be about to repeat itself.

©2016 Adriana Mather (P)2016 Listening Library

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Chris Gray
    7/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOVED it!"

    Adriana Mather narrating her book was a real treat. The story has the perfect amount of humor, mystery, romance, and heart with historical references sprinkled throughout. I have always been intrigued by the Salem Witch Trials and this book provided a new lens with which to view the subject. What I love most about this book is that KINDNESS is the key to everything. Thank you for the great audible experience.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Amber Rae
    San Francisco, CA
    10/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth the Read!"
    What other book might you compare How to Hang a Witch to and why?

    I liked the Secret Circle series and was on the fence about whether or not this book was going to be up to par compared to similar books I read in the past. It was definitely a unique story with some extra love thrown in. I found it interesting that the author is related to Cotton Mathers herself and ties in accurate historical information with the novel. I also liked how the book wasn't as predictable as some of the other ya books I've read recently. I definitely stayed guessing on a few things in the book, so there were a few good surprises. It's definitely worth the credit!


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Lacy
    WAXAHACHIE, TX, United States
    30/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Witch Hunting Role Reversal"

    I love the Salem witch trials and November always makes me think about it because of the Pilgrims/ Puritan contribution to the holiday. This book is exactly what I've been looking for in a witch story! What makes it even more amazing is that the author, Adriana Mather, is descendant from the infamous Cotton Mather. She also narrates this audible book!

    Samantha Mather feels like a black cloud has always followed her in life. Things get worse when her father goes into a coma and must be transferred from New York City to Boston. She and her step-mother, Vivian, move to her dad's old house in Salem to be closer to him. Little does she know, she will meet the cute guy next door named Jackson and his mother (who was her dad's best friend growing up.) She will also encounter a ghost named Elijah that is not too fond of her messing with his belongings.

    High school is tough but it's even tougher when your last name is Mather in Salem High School. Samantha faces the challenge of having rumors spread about her by "the descendants," a group of girls who are directly related to the women that were hanged during the witch trials. Luckily, she has Jackson to help her navigate but she is not prepared for the challenge ahead of her! She will have to believe in the unbelievable, fight through betrayal, and persevere through strife to make things right!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Breanna
    21/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very original !"

    I loved this book! It's very original I don't think I've ever read anything like it ! Wi would recommend it to anyone who like history or suspense. I hope to see more book from this author soon!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Gwendy89
    16/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful"

    This book is a lesson of incredible intensity. Thank you so much for in a way taking the time to teach everyone this. Adriana Mather, you are more correct than you know, kindness of any kind definitely does count. Thank you so much for your talent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jvalles
    15/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Listen at 1.25 speed. Terrible narration."

    I can only assume the author was trying to save money by narrating the story herself. Which I can confirm was not good business.

    The story felt flat with no true climax. Now part of this can be attributed to the narrator. There was no passion, surprise, shock, feeling to any single character presented in this book- this is because the narrator was monotone and bland. I felt nothing when a character died, nor at discovering the villain. Once again because of the lack of voice acting experience the narrator has. Elijah, oh boy, she read his lines extra slow vs the regularly slow reading she read this in altogether. Only half through did I recall the "speed" feature in the app. I have never ever used this feature- that says plenty since I have over 200 audiobooks in my library.

    Besides the mediocre narration, the story did not engage me. I felt nothing and won't be listening to book two (if there is one). Not worth a full credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • knitnavywife
    10/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Such a great read!"

    This story kept me wanting more! It was a great new look at the witch trails. The narration was excellent and very enjoyable. Definitely recommending this book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • victoria
    9/11/16
    Overall
    "love this book"

    can not wait to read by this beautiful author! she has given me a new look on the salem trials

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    6/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great read!"

    Couldn't put this book down! Loved the history aspect and story line. Looking forward to the next book! Also love that the book is read by the author!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    24/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Will pull you in nd twost you up!"

    I loved the concept that it was written by a descendant of the Salem Witch Trials original crew, and read aloud by her as well. The storyline was well-written and the characters relatable and likeable. The twist at the end was foreshadowed enough that I was able to envision it before Samantha did, but still caught me by surprise! I was a bit bent about the Elijah thing, but managed to fall for him myself, so I guess it's forgiven. I look forward to any future books from Ms. Mather and will be sure to enjoy the next one just as much!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.