We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
How to Hang a Witch Audiobook

How to Hang a Witch

Regular Price:$53.37
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

People who bought this also bought...

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern-day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem's past.

Salem, Massachusetts, is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials, and almost immediately she becomes the enemy of a group of girls that call themselves the Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well, technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries-old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hung. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem, but as Sam and her frenemies soon find, history may be about to repeat itself.

©2016 Adriana Mather (P)2016 Listening Library

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (2 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (2 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • susan
    12/12/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "turn it into a movie"

    I loved this story. it has the potential to be a great movie. I hope you do consider this review as what many fans would want.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Lacy
    WAXAHACHIE, TX, United States
    30/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Witch Hunting Role Reversal"

    I love the Salem witch trials and November always makes me think about it because of the Pilgrims/ Puritan contribution to the holiday. This book is exactly what I've been looking for in a witch story! What makes it even more amazing is that the author, Adriana Mather, is descendant from the infamous Cotton Mather. She also narrates this audible book!

    Samantha Mather feels like a black cloud has always followed her in life. Things get worse when her father goes into a coma and must be transferred from New York City to Boston. She and her step-mother, Vivian, move to her dad's old house in Salem to be closer to him. Little does she know, she will meet the cute guy next door named Jackson and his mother (who was her dad's best friend growing up.) She will also encounter a ghost named Elijah that is not too fond of her messing with his belongings.

    High school is tough but it's even tougher when your last name is Mather in Salem High School. Samantha faces the challenge of having rumors spread about her by "the descendants," a group of girls who are directly related to the women that were hanged during the witch trials. Luckily, she has Jackson to help her navigate but she is not prepared for the challenge ahead of her! She will have to believe in the unbelievable, fight through betrayal, and persevere through strife to make things right!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Breanna
    21/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very original !"

    I loved this book! It's very original I don't think I've ever read anything like it ! Wi would recommend it to anyone who like history or suspense. I hope to see more book from this author soon!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Gwendy89
    16/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful"

    This book is a lesson of incredible intensity. Thank you so much for in a way taking the time to teach everyone this. Adriana Mather, you are more correct than you know, kindness of any kind definitely does count. Thank you so much for your talent.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • skittledeedoo
    10/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Such a great read!"

    This story kept me wanting more! It was a great new look at the witch trails. The narration was excellent and very enjoyable. Definitely recommending this book!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • victoria
    9/11/16
    Overall
    "love this book"

    can not wait to read by this beautiful author! she has given me a new look on the salem trials

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Chris Gray
    7/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOVED it!"

    Adriana Mather narrating her book was a real treat. The story has the perfect amount of humor, mystery, romance, and heart with historical references sprinkled throughout. I have always been intrigued by the Salem Witch Trials and this book provided a new lens with which to view the subject. What I love most about this book is that KINDNESS is the key to everything. Thank you for the great audible experience.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Amber Rae
    San Francisco, CA
    10/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth the Read!"
    What other book might you compare How to Hang a Witch to and why?

    I liked the Secret Circle series and was on the fence about whether or not this book was going to be up to par compared to similar books I read in the past. It was definitely a unique story with some extra love thrown in. I found it interesting that the author is related to Cotton Mathers herself and ties in accurate historical information with the novel. I also liked how the book wasn't as predictable as some of the other ya books I've read recently. I definitely stayed guessing on a few things in the book, so there were a few good surprises. It's definitely worth the credit!


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Mindy fangedmom Janicke
    Freeport, IL, United States
    22/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "BEST Salem Witch story I have ever read!"

    This is by far the best Salem Witch story I have ever read. I did not want this book to ever end. I did not want the characters to ever go away. I am having a hard time with my words. I keep tripping over my own feelings. I cannot quite grip the emotions to describe this book.

    It is almost like the author was THERE! The book takes place in modern time, but do not let that fool you! There is so much Salem history intertwined in this book that you can also feel the magic in the words. You are consumed by a piece of American history that you may or may not have ever considered before. Author Adriana Mather brought us not only the story of the Salem Witch trials, the history of Salem and all of the people who lived there. Generation after generation. This author captured the importance of never forgetting history, and keeping the lessons alive that we learn. It truly is sad that we never stop repeating history. In the 1600's, it was witch trials. This story makes you think of how today is not much different than it was in the 1600's when the beginning of the trial's started. I just say READ THIS BOOK! I will always love this book. I adore you Adriana! and KUDOS to the narrator. Thank you so much.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Heather Higbee
    18/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating and enjoyable"

    What an amazing author! I was lost in Salem for many hours. Ms. Mathers really made this story come alive. The characters were very nicely developed and I can't wait to see what's in store for them. I can't wait for her next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.