We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
And I Darken Audiobook

And I Darken

Regular Price:$58.22
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

This vividly rendered novel is like HBO's Game of Thrones if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story's atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's The Red Queen, Kristin Cashore's Graceling, and Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes won't want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in a trilogy.

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who's expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he's made a true friend - and Lada wonders if she's finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against - and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

From New York Times best-selling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled, and hearts will be broken.

©2016 Kiersten White (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Full of sword fights, assassination plots, and palace intrigues, this novel is ambitious in scope and concept and reveals a fascinating, important, and somewhat obscure slice of history...the novel is breathtakingly good." (School Library Journal)

"White deftly weaves historical fact into this complex concoction of love, war, politics, homosexuality, religion, loyalty, and friendship." (Booklist)

"A dark jewel of a story, one that gleams with fierce, cunning characters - absolutely riveting." (Alexandra Bracken, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Passenger)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (2 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • joanne
    8/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unique, beautiful, and eye opening"

    This is not a European fairytale. It is a glimpse into the Ottoman Empire and the lives of two abandoned royal children traded for political stability. Raised to choose brutality instead of fear, this story follows a brother , a sister, and the sultans son through their relationships, the politics of their time, and their own personal desires and aspirations

    If you want a neatly packaged love story this book is not for you. But if you will let the authors story open new worlds and perspectives for you... You are in for a rare tale. Harsh without traumatizing the reader.

    I'm glad to have read it. The story begged me to lay it down and take a break bc of the heart ache but I couldn't leave it alone.

    It is a fabulous stand alone tale but I can see epic potential as a series. I just need some sugar and a nap before I can commit to more.

    Remarkable subtle explanations are powerful and yet avoid being vulgar. I appreciated the depth of the relationships. Fascinating and powerful

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Alexis Wright
    21/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not what I expected but very well written"

    And I Darken follows the life of a sister and brother who are taken as collateral in the father's treaty agreement with a foreign country in exchange for military support in holding on to his thrown. The older sister is fierce and determined, while her little brother has a heart that longs for friendship and acceptance. In this foreign land they must learn the skills that the other posses. As with some families, they drift apart and find that they are stronger together. But reconciling isn't easy. It's hard for the siblings to accept the faults of the other.

    This story is beautifully written. Though a bit slow at times there is a real depth to the feelings of these young characters. My heart broke for Radu who will do anything for someone to call him friend. And then, he finds that he doesn't have a traditional love. The story touches on alot of sensative topics. It was not what I expected after reading the summary. It delves into the relationship between religion and politics. If these are turn offs for you, then I wouldn't purchase this book.

    One last praise to the author in her character development. It was really done well. If you enjoy historical literature or stories around politics and governing this will be a good choice. If these are not things that peek your interest then I'd suggest taking a pass on this one.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • B. J. Neary
    Oreland, PA USA
    31/08/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dracula meets antiheroine"
    What made the experience of listening to And I Darken the most enjoyable?

    The Narrator was great


    What did you like best about this story?


    OMG, I loved this historical fiction book, characters and plot! Imagine antiheroine, Lada Dragwyla, during the Ottoman Empire. She is the opposite of her brother, Radu, who is sweet, kind, and soft-spoken - constantly terrorized by his sister but also loved deeply by Lada. When they are given over as prisoners to the Sultan, Lada only wants to return to her homeland, Wallachia. But once they meet, Mehmet, the heir to the Ottoman empire and a kindred spirit- these three form a very strong bond of friendship. I loved White's characters, even minor ones like Kumar. I loved/hated Lada, Radu and Mehmet- you will too. I can't wait to see what happens as more war, passion, atrocities, and betrayal continue to play out in this 2nd in The Conquerors Saga.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    When Lada saves Mehmet the Sultan twice- she was daring, diabolical and kick-ass


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    YES!!! I kept looking for reasons to listen to it...


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Sara
    31/08/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "awesome and inspiring"

    great story. very relevant.I love the strength of the female characters and how you can feel their inner conflict and journey.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • JGillespieSt
    30/08/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Gutsy Departure for Kiersten White"

    Kiersten White's newest book is a tour de force and unlike anything else I've ever read by her.

    In And I Darken Kiersten White recasts Vlad the Impaler as a girl, Lada Dragwlya. Vlad III, known for his ruthlessness, is most famous for being the historical inspiration for Dracula. Lada, in turn, is ruthless, smart, and fierce. She has a viciousness that is rather terrifying. You don't read about too many girls like her.

    I was expecting some kind of fantastical element to this story, but it reads more like true historical fiction. White follows the outline of Vlad's life as she tells her tale. She adds detail and character to the historical facts. Plus, we have a girl Vlad so that opens up all kinds of possibilities. The book is narrated by both Lada and her brother Radu. And I really enjoyed the complicated relationship between the two siblings.

    Vlad and his brother, the young princes of Wallachia, were ransomed by their father to the Ottomans in 1442. Lada and her brother Radu are as well. There they come of age, and in some ways this book is a coming of age story -- especially when it comes to Radu's part of the tale. Living in the Ottoman empire, the princess and prince are somewhat isolated. They don't really belong. The tide changes a bit when the two meet and become friends with Mehmed (the future Sultan). Mehmed is the other towering figure in And I Darken.

    This book has great character development, lots of political intrigue, a high-stakes love triangle, and fabulous historical atmosphere. I really enjoyed delving into the history of the Ottoman Empire. It was so formidable for so long, but I haven't encountered it much in fiction.

    This book strikes me as a gutsy departure for Kiersten White. And I Darken explores issues of gender equality, sexuality, religion, familial relationships, and politics in a sophisticated and unflinching way.

    Fiona Hardingham always delivers a great performance. I'm pretty sure my enjoyment of this book was upped because I listened to the audio version. I will definitely be listening to the sequels.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Georgina Hollaway
    12/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narration lacked flow but story was perfect"

    The narration seemed clumsy, clunky and strange. Every time a name is said it sounds like it was prerecorded so there is no flow to the narration. Her voice is a little grating but still the story was great enough that it didn't dampen too much. If the narration was changed it would have been perfect.
    Lada is ruthless, fierce and a force to be reckoned with. No protagonist comes close to what Lada is and this is only the beginning.
    This is a retelling of the Ottoman Empire with real people but fictional tales. Vlad the Impaler has been gender bent to Lada!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.