We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Truth Audiobook

The Truth: Discworld, Book 25

Regular Price:$36.69
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

William de Worde is the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper. Now he must cope with the traditional perils of a journalist's life - people who want him dead, a recovering vampire with a suicidal fascination for flash photography, some more people who want him dead in a different way and, worst of all, the man who keeps begging him to publish pictures of his humorously shaped potatoes.William just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition...

This is the 25th volume in the Discworld series.

©2000 Terry and Lyn Pratchett; (P)2000 Isis Publishing Ltd.

What the Critics Say

"Pratchett's brand of humor has intelligence and satiric relevance...he has much to say about the world." (Publishers Weekly)
"Unadulterated fun...Witty, frequently hilarious." (San Francisco Chronicle)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (36 )
5 star
 (29)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (32 )
5 star
 (26)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.8 (33 )
5 star
 (28)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Aaron 27/05/2015
    Aaron 27/05/2015 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You want the Truth? I will give you the Truth."

    I liked this book in all it's glory. I had alot of fun listening to this, passing the time while travelling around the country for work. I found that I was well submersed in the story and saved me from falling asleep at the wheel.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Meg 24/09/2016
    Meg 24/09/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The perfect rendition"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I would definitely recommend this audiobook to a friend! Firstly, Terry Pratchett is amazing & I'd recommend any of his Discworld series to a friend as it was. This book in particular, though, covers themes we can all relate to - integrity in media & high society privilege gone wrong (a theme which I think must have been close to Pratchett's heart, since he covered it in a lot of other installments of his Discworld series - in particular, those featuring the Night Watch). Secondly, the characters are beautifully rendered, with Stephen Brigg's tone pairing beautifully with the tone of Pratchett's narration. Thirdly, it's just a wonderful ride of a novel - it hits all the right notes with the plot, with characteristic Pratchett humour & witticisms and a cast of characters to enchant, amuse & beguile you throughout the novel. I've listened to it at least 3 times through already.


    What did you like best about this story?

    This is Terry Pratchett at his best - the witticisms were right on point, the humour wonderfully paced, the tender moments were handled with care & a sense of captivating drama was woven so well throughout the performance that it was difficulty itself to turn it off. The renditions of Mr. Tulip, Mr. Pin, Otto & Death were perfect (endearingly so - these are some of my favourite characters in the whole canon & it was a joy to hear them voiced so well).


    What about Stephen Briggs’s performance did you like?

    He has a beautiful breadth of range, which both lends tenderness to poignant moments without dropping the listener & highlights the humour of Pratchett's work wonderfully, matching him phrase for phrase in tone. His renditions of the characters are brilliant & a joy to listen to. In short, he's just what a voice actor ought to be for an audiobook - he brings the book to life without the hindrance that can come from a more amateur performer's touch.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    The truth shall make ye frep!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Martin
    Cork, Ireland
    19/04/08
    Overall
    "Pratchett in top form"

    I am a fan of Terry Pratchett novels and am amazed at how prolific he is while maintaining the quality of his output. This is one of his better recent efforts. Pratchett's books always have one or two inspired comic ideas and this one is no exception. It is worth reading for the vampire photographer with flash-photography issues alone. Well worth a listen if you like quirky humour in the vein of Douglas Adams and Robert Rankin.

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful
  • nicole
    United Kingdom
    26/08/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "In the unlikely event you've never read Pratchett"

    I wasn't going to review Terry Pratchett's Discworld books, simply because he is such a well known author that everyone already knows that this book, like all the Discworld books, will be funny, imaginative and have everything you want in it to keep you coming back and re-reading year after year. Most Audible listeners also know that all the main narrators that read Pratchett's books (Stephen Briggs, Nigel Planer and Tony Robinson) are all amazing, bringing the book and it's characters to life in a way that earns their five star reviews.

    If you are actually a new listener on the other-hand this might really help.

    Firstly despite the order they were written in my suggestion would be to start with the guards series. Pratchett has developed a complicated world with several in jokes and this is an easy way to enter it, as the books introduce the reader to the main city from which much of the action takes place. The guards series is arguably one of the most popular and after the first book has a strong cast of both male and female characters. I should warn that some of the other series' books are set before the events in the Watch novels but I still found this the most accessible way, into this vast fictional world.

    The order of the guards books are Guards Guards, Men at Arms, Feet Of Clay, Jingo, The Fifth Elephant, Night watch, Thud and Snuff (there are also spin off books that are mentioned in the series). From there you can either start reading the witches novels if you prefer female leads, Rincewind if you prefer male or stay in the city with some of what are often refer to as the `industrial' novels like The Truth, Going Postal and Making Money. Guides to reading order can easily be found on the net if you don't want to go by publication date.

    I would also think twice before buying the abridged versions. Tony Robinson as a narrator is brilliant but so are the other narrators and a lot of the plot and humor is cut to fit so much into such a short time. I've listened to most of them and I'd personally go with unabridged every time.

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful
  • Michael
    Chatham, United Kingdom
    7/04/11
    Overall
    "***ing brilliant"

    Mt Tulip and Mr Pin, The New Firm, Millenium Hand and Shrimp I told 'em! Now my favouite Discworld book.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Michael. R
    whitehaven, cumbria, United Kingdom
    19/04/10
    Overall
    "the truth"

    one of the best books from sir terry pratchett colection of the disk world stories

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    PETERBOROUGH, United Kingdom
    7/04/13
    Overall
    "Great Discworld story"

    Another great story of the discworld. I've read them all, and am working through the audio books during long journeys. Love Pratchett's work and after the older Tony Robinson ones this is my favourite narrator.



    The Guards stories are my preference and this is a great one. Would recommend the story to those new to or totally familiar with the Discworld

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Natalia
    Southampton, United Kingdom
    21/03/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    Good story, read well as always. Besides its criminal detective element, content is also educational about news making in a funny and lighthearted way.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Rhiannon
    12/04/13
    Overall
    "Terry at his best!"

    I love this novel! Terry introduces William Deworda, and the start of the press in . the usual mix of lord vetinary, the watch and the wizards, trolls and Dwarfs. I love the use of the vampire as an iconographer. it is like coming home to your family, to be able keep up with the chacters as they grow throughout the series. this one of my favorites and I own them all.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Tim Bamford
    3/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not Nigel"

    having had 20+ read my Nigel Planer it is hard to hear another reader who doesn't follow the accepted pattern of referred speech that Nigel Planer has established eg in the previous story he refers to a 'Sonky' when we all know it is called a 'Shonky', where is the continuity?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs. Victoria Dixon
    UK
    27/08/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just what you'd expect, cracking story well read"

    Most memorable moment? The imp reading out a set of terms and conditions was truly laugh out loud

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • R Bligh
    Chesterfield, UK
    10/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "luv it"

    Not long enough sad when it finished. cant wait to listen to next Discworld book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.