We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Shadows of Self Audiobook

Shadows of Self: A Mistborn Novel

Regular Price:$41.04
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy of Law, the Sunday Times and New York Times best-selling author returns to the world of Mistborn.

It is more than 300 years after the events of the The Final Empire shaped Scadrial. Waxillium Ladrian has returned to the capital city of Elendel from the far-flung roughs.

Elendel is crisscrossed by canals and railways, and towers reach for the sky, but this is still a city of dangers and of magic; Allomancy and Feruchemy can still change the world. Wax faces many more adventures.

Sanderson is a master of rich worlds, appealing characters and gripping plots, and his return to Mistborn shows him at the height of his powers.

©2015 Dragonsteel Entertainment, LLC (P)2015 Macmillan Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (97 )
5 star
 (74)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (89 )
5 star
 (65)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (89 )
5 star
 (71)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Keet 23/11/2016
    Keet 23/11/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "the amazing team"

    Sanderson created an absolutly amazing series and Kramers storytelling made it epic. I could not be happier to have found this combination or writer and speaker, helping me once again loose myself in a series like ive not been able to do in such a long time. thank you.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steven 02/11/2016
    Steven 02/11/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing author"

    As always, Mr Sandersons novels continue to amaze and impress. Truly worthy successor to the Mistborn trilogy, fused with wild-west grit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mike 13/06/2016
    mike 13/06/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "slow to get going"

    had difficulty getting into the story, but some great concepts explored and a pretty snazzy finish.

    well read, although the voice actor's female voices can be jarring. would prefer combination with a female voice actor

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • SarahLouise
    5/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing!"

    Sanderson is a master of his craft. With Kramer's performance the story is given a life of its own.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Karl
    20/04/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book and series. author is awesome!"

    Brandon Sanderson is an amazing author! every series he writes is unlike anything else. and it makes me unable to choose what series of his is my favourite! in general the cosmere is my favourite!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • C. Massey
    Cambridge
    8/02/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great addition to the mistborn universe"

    I've loved every book in the Mistborn series, and Sanderson's extension to the universe continues to delight. This was well-read, and had just the right amount of suspense and tension to make it almost a noir crime thriller.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Katarina
    1/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sanderson does it again"
    If you could sum up Shadows of Self in three words, what would they be?

    imaginative, unexpectedly brilliant


    Any additional comments?

    Sanderson has built an incredibly complex world where the laws of physics as we know do not apply to everyone. Brilliant action packed storyline and characters with extraordinary abilities are a standard for Sanderson, but in Shadows of Self he gives them a depth of personality and emotional life that other authors can seldom achieve in such a relatively short space. The fast-paced narrative made me hold my breath and at the same time my heart ached for the personal tragedies each of the characters lives. Definitely one to keep and listen to over and over again.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Robyn
    SWINDON, United Kingdom
    19/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hooked again...."

    ............and the good news is, Book 3, Bands of Mourning, is marked as "Final Draft - 100%" on BS's website. (And, the release date is only 3 months away, which is even better news!)

    I must admit to finding the start of this second book in the series a little slow. I always re-listen to the books in a series, before listening to any new addition. I'd remembered enjoying the light-heartedness of the first book, and although Shadows of Self continued in this same tone, somehow this time I found Wayne's nonsense with his hats, and the banter between them just a little bit dull and repetitious....(maybe I was in a boring kind of mood myself). However, then it all got going - and it just took off! Proper nods to the Mistborn characters, and some real depth to these new characters too. And, just for good measure, a really good Sanderson plot twist to keep me hooked and waiting in anticipation for the next instalment! If you're a Mistborn fan, you'll need to add this one to your library too. Narration absolutely consistent with previous book, which is always a relief.

    Thank you Brandon Sanderson, for never disappointing me!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • chris evans
    2/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great mist born novel injected with humour."
    What made the experience of listening to Shadows of Self the most enjoyable?

    A well narrated novel full of action and the usual mist born wonders in an amazing universe. The characters bring a fun spin on the classic fantasy story. The mechanics of the magic continue to be enthralling but with the introduction of guns, cars and detectives you are now introduced to a new universe which brings new levels of engagement.


    What other book might you compare Shadows of Self to, and why?

    It's like mist on but with a detective spin.


    What three words best describe Michael Kramer’s performance?

    Versatile, engaging, excellent


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • barry
    MANCHESTER, United Kingdom
    1/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The 2nd part of the 2nd mist born trilogy."
    Would you listen to Shadows of Self again? Why?

    Definitely. It plays very well as a progression of the western era of the mistborn series. The story is strong and adds depth to the vivid world that sanderson is creating behind the scenes.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Sanderson has done an amazing job of making you question who is good and who is bad. The struggle of power and responsibility are evident in the movements of his God.

    Sanderson writes religious uncertainty better than the majority of fantasy authors I've read, for a Mormon that is damn impressive.


    What about Michael Kramer’s performance did you like?

    Kramer is always very varied from character to character, making it clear who's talking without exposition. He also produces the right tone for dramatic moments that draws you very well into the tension.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • MR
    1/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well worth it!"
    What made the experience of listening to Shadows of Self the most enjoyable?

    Fantastic performance of a great book. Enjoyed from start to finish. Didn't suffer from some of Sandersons extra long back story and kept pace throughout.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Well polished story and great characters.


    Have you listened to any of Michael Kramer’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Yes - compares well. Voice acting is getting better and better.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Wanted to!


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • David
    Isleworth, United Kingdom
    29/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another fantastic Cosmere adventure"

    Narrators breadth of voices was wonderful again, story was the same kind of roller coaster and I love returning to those Cosmere worlds. I also live the final chapter and can't wait to work out the story that weaves all the novels together!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • J. Smith
    UK
    28/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't wait for the next part"

    Another triumph from Brandon Sanders! Expertly read by Michael Kramer. This picks up from alloy of law (though doesn't work as a stand alone). Good to see the return of a favourite from the first mistborn series.

    I absolutely love the characters and am looking forward to the next part

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • M S Atkinson
    17/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    I don't think I have enjoyed a set of books so much. Diving straight into the next in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    12/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "fantastic"

    amazing listen, great series. im a huge fan of the author and he does it again with another incredible book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Neil
    16/08/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    Narrator really brings this story to life with his characters voices . The story's main characters are a mixture of crocodile Dundee meets Butch Cassidy in a big city
    Always enjoy Sanders ons stories

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.