We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Whale Road Audiobook

The Whale Road

Regular Price:$15.11
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Life is savage aboard a Viking raider. When young Orm Rurikson is plucked from the snows of Norway to join his estranged father on the Fjord Elk, he becomes an unlikely member of a notorious crew. They are the Oathsworn, so named after the spoken bond that ties them in brotherhood, and they ply a casual trade on the ocean wave, selling their swords to the highest bidder.

But times are changing. Loyalty to the old Norse Gods is fading, and the followers of the mysterious "White Christ" are gaining power across Europe. Hired as relic-hunters by the merchant rulers of a bustling city, the Oathsworn are sent in search of a legendary sword of untold value to the new religion. With only a young girl as guide, their quest will lead them onto the deep and treacherous waters of the "whale road", toward the cursed treasure of Attila the Hun. And to a challenge that will test the very bond that holds them together.

A significant new voice in historical fiction, Robert Low has created a startlingly modern tale in the style of the great Viking sagas. A heady mix of powerful suspense, blockbuster battles and religious intrigue, The Whale Road is a must for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Tim Severin.

©2007 Robert Low; (P)2007 HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, London UK

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (3 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.7 (3 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • David
    High River, Alberta, Canada
    10/02/08
    Overall
    "A great listen!"

    The Whale Road is a great escape into the fictional life of a young Viking -- the battles, travels, and intrigue of midievil culture and worldview. An enjoyable,extremely well-written and narrated book - perfect for those (like me!)who have enjoyed Cornwell's Saxons stories. This one will not disappoint! Here's hoping more stories are forthcoming...

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Rob
    United Kingdom
    8/04/13
    Overall
    "Brilliant book broodingly broadcast by Rintaul"

    I am a lover of Robert Low's intelligent yet bloody Viking sagas. But I wondered how his rich tales would translate audibly. So I gave his David Rintaul-read Whale Road a try. Rintaul's Scots voice is charismatic,characterful and Viking enough for me. His theatrical, engaging delivery was a joy to listen to: from capturing the brooding hero Orm, to brutal battles and Low's bountiful insights to the Viking world. I recommend it thoroughly, and wish that more of Low's Oathsworn books would be recorded by Rintaul!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Dave Coleman
    16/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good Viking saga!"

    Good story, historically sound and well performed. Took a bit to engage with initially but worth it: a satisfying listen well worth 5 stars.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.