We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Tudor Bride Audiobook

The Tudor Bride

Regular Price:$33.81
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The thrilling story of Catherine de Valois - the French princess who became an English queen. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.

Even the greatest of queens have rules - to break them would cost her dearly….

King Henry V's new French Queen, Catherine, dazzles the crowds in England but life at court is full of intrigue and her loyal companion, Mette, suspects that the beautiful Eleanor Cobham, protégée of the Duke of Gloucester, is spying for him.

Catherine believes herself invincible as she gives birth to an heir, then tragically King Henry is struck down by fever back in France and a weeping dowager queen follows his coffin back to England, comforted by the music of the King's Harper, Owen Tudor.

Unable to outwit those who seek to remove the new young king from her care, Catherine retires from court. At the secluded manor of Hadham a smouldering ember bursts into flame and Catherine and Owen Tudor become lovers.

But their love cannot remain a secret forever, and when a grab for power is made by Gloucester, Catherine - and those dearest to her - face mortal danger….

©2013 Joanna Hickson (P)2013 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"Woman‘Superb…a real find." (The Bookseller)
"Captivating." (Woman's Own)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.0 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Samantha 22/09/2016
    Samantha 22/09/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "wonderful"

    i loved this book. great story. historical fiction at its best.
    well presented and well performed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Cecilie
    London, United Kingdom
    6/01/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A poor choice of narrator"
    Any additional comments?

    After finishing "The Agincourt Bride", which I very much enjoyed, I bought "The Tudor Bride".
    That was a mistake!
    I could only listen to three chapters before I had to stop in annoyance.
    Maggie Mash has a hoarse voice and tries to imitate a French accent, which is a complete contrast to Catherine Harvey's melodious voice and British accent. I simply do not understand why it was decided to choose such a different narrator for the continuation of the story.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Rebecca
    Shrewley, United Kingdom
    9/06/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as good as I had hoped"
    What did you like best about The Tudor Bride? What did you like least?

    The story seamlessly follows on from the end of "The Agincourt Bride" and continues to tell the story of Catherine of Valois and her companion Mette. The book is written from the perspective of Mette and the story believably captures their relationship and gives you a convincing picture of the time its set in.


    If you’ve listened to books by Joanna Hickson before, how does this one compare?

    I loved the "The Agincourt Bride", and as soon I finished it I downloaded "The Tudor Bride". Sadly I was not sucked into the story in the same way. Its hard to say whether this was because the narrator wasn't as good or if the story wasn't as gripping.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    I wasn't entirely happy with the narrator of this book. Her attempts to jump between accents didn't add anything and was sometimes annoying. It made it difficult to stick with the book.


    Any additional comments?

    After listening to The Agincourt Bride I really wanted to listen to this book so I could continue the story. Sadly I wasn't gripped by this book and the narration was sub parr. It was a difficult to get into this book but I persevered and I am pleased I did. Its a good book but not as good as I had hoped.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • juliannerigby
    FARNBOROUGH, United Kingdom
    30/03/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "journey of two different but inseparable women"
    Would you listen to The Tudor Bride again? Why?

    yes; it was a very emotional and believable story about two women thrown together and living through many difficult and also happy times.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    There are many interesting characters but I would have to say Met and Catherine jointly.


    Have you listened to any of Maggie Mash’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Not yet!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes I found it hard to tear myself away from


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Claire W.
    3/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good wish there was no accent"

    Once I got over the accent of the main character (which was annoying) it was very good.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Caroline Munday
    23/09/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well performed story of loyalty and love ...."
    If you could sum up The Tudor Bride in three words, what would they be?

    Love Loyalty Spellbinding


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Tudor Bride?

    Mett managing to get an audience with King Henry to deliver his Mother's letter.


    Which character – as performed by Maggie Mash – was your favourite?

    That's a hard one BUT Mett as it was her story.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The whole developing relationship between Mett and Catherine and particularly when she finally opened Catherine's Prie-Dieu and read the letter x


    Any additional comments?

    I loved Maggie Mash's performance and it made the characters more "personal" and enhanced my enjoyment immensely.
    I wish I had read Agincourt Bride before but I've just downloaded it - disappointed it's not performed by Maggie Mash though.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.