We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Light on the Water Audiobook

The Light on the Water

Regular Price:$24.80
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Recently divorced and trying to make sense of her new life, Anne takes her daughter, Aida, on an overnight bushwalk in the moody wilderness of Wilsons Promontory. In a split second, Aida disappears, and a frantic Anne scrambles for help. Some of the emergency trackers who search for Aida already doubt Anne's story.

Nearly two years later and still tormented by remorse and grief, Anne is charged with her daughter's murder. Witnesses have come forward offering evidence which points to her guilt. She is stalked by the media and shunned by friends, former colleagues and neighbours. On bail and awaiting trial, Anne works to reconstruct her last hours with Aida. She remembers the sun high in the sky, the bush noisy with insects, and her own anxiety, as oppressive as the heat haze.

A superbly written and conceived literary work about the best and the worst aspects of family life, this story asks difficult questions about society, the media, and our rush to judgment.

This is a thoughtful, provocative and unflinching novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Joan London and Charlotte Wood.

©2016 Olga Lorenzo (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (18 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.9 (17 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (17 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dr. Alison M. Harman 13/08/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intriguing, richly descriptive Aussie story"

    I found this book very easy to listen to. Reader had nice voice and read really well. It kept me interested all the way through. A strength of the book was the illustration, 'show not tell' as my English teacher used to say. The writer had many insights into various circumstances so must have done a lot of research or experienced any things herself. The actual story was not extensive and came out in bits throughout but this was made up for by the richness of descriptions.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle 06/09/2016
    Michelle 06/09/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    I was drawn in quickly and then sadly disappointed . The ending seemed rushed and a real anti climax . There were chapters I could have missed with no impact on the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Betty Denley 04/09/2016
    Betty Denley 04/09/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Without End Amen"

    I don't like stories that leave me wondering !! what happened to the child ? Did the mother get off?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.