We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Great Christmas Knit Off Audiobook

The Great Christmas Knit Off

Regular Price:$23.13
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. For fans of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan.

Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale.

There, Sybil discovers Hettie's House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil's wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen…

©2014 Alexandra Brown (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

Praise for Alexandra Brown:‘Adorable, comical and magical, this is a festive delight' (Closer)
We love it!' (Now)
Defies the chick lit cliché' (Heat)

‘I loved Cupcakes At Carrington's, a warm, witty, loveable read with plenty of sparkle and charm' (Rowan Coleman)

'A sparkling debut…funny, romantic and utterly charming. Devour in one sitting like a delicious, indulgent cupcake then go back and start again' (Sasha Wagstaff)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.8 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.8 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Fabulous Book Fiend
    England
    1/01/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A heart warming read!"

    Review: I totally didn't know what to expect coming into this book. Alexandra brown is an auto buy author for me and so I didn't even read the blurb before reading-sometimes that's the best way don't you think? Anyway, what I found was a lovely heart-warming read that's great at this time of year but would be perfect for a reread at any time of year! This book has gorgeous characters, a fab setting and true Fairytale storyline!

    I loved the setting in Tindledale, it's like Sybs literally leaves the problems and the hustle and bustle of London behind and travels to a magical land, the Narnia-sequel village of Tindledale! It's got it all,the hunky doctor, the village gossip and the pivotal village pub! I love the link between Sybs and her friend Cher in the village and then when she finds the knitting shop-meant to be! All the characters in the novel are great, I love Sybs and her determination, I love her friendship with Cher and Hetty is a great edition to her circle of people. Ben is a great love interest and Alexandra brown has written in all the usual quirky characters you would find in a small country village, eccetentric and yet believeable!

    The storyline is very much a fairy story yet with reality built into it. It has romance and Rama, a bit of mystery and a lot of heart warming moments. There are a few times where the storyline seemd a little slow to me, like in the beginning when Sybs is getting ready to go and meet her mystery man from the train, it seems to take her ages to actually get ready and go and meet him, things keep stopping her and I felt like surely it must've been dead of night by the time she got there but overall, the rest of the novel is pacey and fun and really just a lovely story! I really enjoyed this novel and would definitely recommend giving it a read!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Miss
    31/12/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A lovely festive comfort blanket of a listen"

    Just the job for s Christmas story - cosy happy endings on the cards from the first sentence, but enough fun and intrigue during the story to keep it interesting, and some lovely characters and passages - particularly the bits where the lovely Laurence and ruby give our heroine a makeover. Thought the reader was great too - she sounded just like you'd expect Cybs to sound.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    6/12/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Warm and cozy"
    What made the experience of listening to The Great Christmas Knit Off the most enjoyable?

    A lovely setting, likeable characters and a feel good story. The gentle hint of romance was just perfect to top it off.


    What other book might you compare The Great Christmas Knit Off to, and why?

    I've never read one quite like this.


    Have you listened to any of Gabrielle Glaister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    This was my first but I'll look for more now.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    A bit of both - you get so attached to the characters


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Lie Back & Listen
    London, United Kingdom
    17/11/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Get Ready, Get Steady, Knit Off!"

    Perfect title to snuggle up and listen to.

    Get a blanket and get ready to live the festive knitting fantasy.

    I’m so happy Alexandra Brown is finally on audio as she one of the UK’s finest chick-lit authors.

    Hopefully the publishers will take note of her 5star reviews on audible and get the all the ‘Carrington’s’ books on audio ASAP!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Steven
    Hearts, United Kingdom
    17/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Craftily good fun"

    Gentle feel good story with a crafty twist - one even my husband enjoyed listening to

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Elaine Calderwood
    Kilmarnock, Scotland
    10/07/15
    Overall
    "Loving this book, quiet time, cuppa and this book"

    I am enjoying this book so much I am going to research for more by the same author.

    I was just shopping for something different to my usual and happened across this - so glad I found it.

    Give it a try

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Sarah
    Crewe, United Kingdom
    30/04/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A feel good story for knitting fans!"

    It was a little slow to get going but was a really feel good warm fuzzy story overall. Perfect for easy listening and not just for Christmas.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    2/03/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lovely story."

    Nice listening and very hard to stop listening. Good narrating. A real feel good book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Denise McLaughlin
    22/02/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    The storyline was excellent and the narrator was exceptional. I recognised her voice immediately! More please from author and narrator.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • B
    24/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just couldn't reconcile the narrator with the character"

    I downloaded this a year ago as fancied something light and frivolous for the festive period. It certainly fits that description but it was just not a fun listen. The main character is mean't to be a single young women but is written like a middle aged one, with name to fit, sybil. Then there's the narrator, perfectly pleasant voice but again sounds like and reads like someone's Mum. Even the rest of the cast seem like the cast from "last of the Summer Wine" I gave up after 3 hours last December and tried again a week ago, getting to the end just so I hadn't wasted my money, but really it could have been better spent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.