We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Courage Tree Audiobook

The Courage Tree

Regular Price:$38.61
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Eight-year-old Sophie Donohue just wanted to be like every other little girl. Which is why her mother, Janine, reluctantly agreed to let her go on the weekend camping trip with her Brownie troop. But when Janine arrives to pick up Sophie after the trip, her daughter is not with the others. Somehow, along the forested route from West Virginia, Sophie has disappeared.

Sophie is no ordinary eight-year-old. She suffers from a rare disease, and Janine has recently enrolled her in an experimental treatment as a last effort to save her life - despite the vehement objections of her ex-husband, Joe. Without her medication, Sophie cannot survive long. All her mother's instincts tell Janine that Sophie is alive, but time is running out.

©2001 Diane Chamberlain (P)2015 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"Well-drawn characters and an unexpected and riveting plot make this a memorable thriller in the tradition of Joy Fielding and Mary Higgins Clark." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (7 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (7 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (6 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    audibleJames Tauranga, New Zealand 28/06/2016
    audibleJames Tauranga, New Zealand 28/06/2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Diane Chamberlain is a great story writer"

    This book takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions. It's about a 8 year old girl that goes missing after a brownie camp. But she is sick. She has to be found before she dies. You will not be able to stop listening to the end. 5 stars for me. This is my first Diane Chamberlain book and I will be listening to more of her books. Thanks Audible.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Lisa
    6/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful book"

    Stick with this book. There are frustrating people that you want to lash out at & a main character you support with all your heart. There is a mystery man that has an interesting story when it finally comes out.
    I don't think I've heard a bad Diane Chamberlain book yet!!! I'm off to decide on my next one!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Linda
    8/08/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    Loved it. The story is very compelling. Narration is very good. Listened twice so I didn't miss anything.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Sarah
    30/06/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    This book kept you on the edge of your seat. It was a great listen highly recommend. A great ending in the last chapter.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Yikes
    29/06/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable"

    Not quite edge of your seat material but suspenseful at times. There were a few interesting twists but most were predictable. At one point I thought the story was headed in a different direction and was a little disappointed when that wasn't the case - it would have rated 5 stars if the camp councillor had played a bigger part in the disappearance! Overall, quite similar to a Danielle Steele without the time gaps - the whole story plays out within a month.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Cindy Lu
    Boulder, Co United States
    28/02/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My first Diane Chamberlain book"
    Would you listen to The Courage Tree again? Why?

    Maybe, I enjoyed the story and liked Sophi's character.


    If you’ve listened to books by Diane Chamberlain before, how does this one compare?

    First book


    Have you listened to any of Ann Marie Lee’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    N/a


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    When Sophie explained the courage tree.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Tracy
    27/01/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just ok"

    The story in itself was not bad. I had a very hard time with the narrators voice. I wouldn't probably listen to another book if she were the narrator

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Pamela Burns
    10/01/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really enjoyed"
    If you could sum up The Courage Tree in three words, what would they be?

    Suspenseful, moving, heartwarming


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Sophie, such a breve girl


    Any additional comments?

    Not sure why others didn't think this was a good book. I couldn't wait to hear what happened!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Roxanne Gross
    5/01/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good but not Great"

    I am still a die hard fan of Diane Chamberlain but this was not one of my favorite books. I would start with some of her recent stories if you have not read her stuff before. This had a lot of unrealistic parts which made it not as enjoyable. But still a fan...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Brooke
    29/11/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "waste of time"
    Any additional comments?

    I love EVERY other Diane Chamberlian book, and I was excited to find this one... but it was terrible. The story line was not bad, but the characters were weak and I struggled to finish the book.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.