We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Lost & Found Audiobook

Lost & Found

Regular Price:$49.88
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

This heart-warming, life affirming best seller is perfect for fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared and The Rosie Project.

Winner, General Fiction Book Of The Year, Australian Book Industry Awards, 2015.

Winner, Matt Richell New Writer Of The Year, Australian Book Industry Awards, 2015.

At seven years old, Millie Bird realises that everything is dying around her. She wasn’t to know that after she had recorded 27 assorted creatures in her Book of Dead Things her dad would be a Dead Thing, too.

Agatha Pantha is 82 and has not left her house since her husband died. She sits behind her front window, hidden by the curtains and ivy, and shouts at passers-by, roaring her anger at complete strangers. Until the day Agatha spies a young girl across the street.

Karl the touch typist is 87 when his son kisses him on the cheek before leaving him at the nursing home. As he watches his son leave, Karl has a moment of clarity. He escapes the home and takes off in search of something different.

Three lost people needing to be found - but they don’t know it yet. Millie, Agatha and Karl are about to break the rules and discover what living is all about.

Loved around the world, this Australian debut novel will have you laughing, crying, and, by the end, feeling just a little wiser….

©2014 Brooke Davis (P)2015 Hachette Australia Pty Ltd

What the Critics Say

"Lost & Found is a highly entertaining road trip and much, much more...bubbling with warmth and humour, it also explores loss, death, love and trust." (The West Australian)

"The same feel-good word of mouth as...The Rosie Project." (The Sydney Morning Herald)

"Heartbreaking, funny and brilliant." (Courier Mail)

"Enchanting debut." (Vanity Fair)

"Uproarious and affecting." (Independent)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (14 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.8 (13 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.6 (13 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Cecilia Flynn Australia 30/10/2016
    Cecilia Flynn Australia 30/10/2016

    Cecy

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good start and story but that's it..."

    I started listening to this book with a lot of excitement. The story of a little girl left behind in a department store is a very engaging start, half way through the book though, the innumerable characters and their minute descriptions of every single thing they do or think becomes trying and irrelevant to what I thought to be the main story...it turns out this is a book about three different people. And how their lives interject. I found it difficult to finish. Just too much unnecessary description and details of irrelevant in and out characters that add nothing to the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James 05/04/2016
    James 05/04/2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quieky and extremely captivating"

    Loved it. The narrator captured the characters perfectly.
    The story was quite unique in its ability to articulate the characters quirky thoughts and personality traits.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mary 05/09/2015
    mary 05/09/2015

    I have loved reading since a child. I revel in audio books since eye surgery. I love people, art, history, music & stories.....

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a modern don quixote"

    A child becomes obsessed with death when her father dies. Her mother sbandons her and this is the story of her search for her mother in the company of two oldies both of whose spouses have died. Its a bizarre tale told through the eyes of the young girl and two oldies who are her partners in crime. crazy, wild and sad. l loved the bold and brittle characters. A tragedy set in modern Australia.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kerri Moolap, Australia 29/07/2015
    Kerri Moolap, Australia 29/07/2015 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Large women's underwear!"

    Brilliant story about 3 lost souls and a mannequin learning that trust and togetherness mean everything. It's worth persevering with the narrator's monotone to hear a really lovely tale.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michele 05/06/2015
    Michele 05/06/2015 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not worth the time it took"

    Kinda quirky but nothing great about this book. Quite disappointing compared to reviews it got

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.