We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
An Absent Mind Audiobook

An Absent Mind

Regular Price:$12.28
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Seventy-one and a man used to controlling those around him, Saul finds himself slipping into what he describes as his slow dance with death.

His ramblings, humor, emotions, lucid moments, and confusion are laid bare as well as the thoughts and feelings of his loved ones: his wife, Monique, conflicted and depressed, caring yet angry; his daughter, Florence, compassionate yet proper and reserved; his son, Joey, self-centered and narcissistic, seemingly indifferent to his family's challenges; and his doctor, an Alzheimer's specialist who cares for Saul until his final days.

From the beginning Saul and his family know how it has to end because no one has ever outsmarted Alzheimer's. But as they navigate the meandering road that will eventually bring Saul's demise, they leave behind their once disconnected lives and come together to weather their difficult journey.

Heartfelt and moving, this lauded novel, winner of 2014 gold medals from the Independent Publisher Book Awards, Readers' Favorite Book Awards, and the Living Now Book Award for Inspirational Fiction, will appeal to fans of Lisa Genova's Still Alice or Nicholas Sparks' The Notebook.

©2015 Eric Rill (P)2014 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

2.0 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
2.0 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
1.5 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Gillian
    Austin, TX, United States
    17/04/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ambitious but Falls Short"

    I think "An Absent Mind" tries a little too hard and goes too many places with too little focus. The character's emotions and personality traits are all over the map, they are who they are, either gracious or resentful with little rhyme or reason and it gets annoying. You can't really care for any of them. Alzheimer's was presented well enough with the long term memory being far more readily apparent than short term, but it seemed to cause the family more annoyance than agony. As someone who has it in the family right now, I've gotta say, I was expecting a lot more.
    Maybe to those unschooled and just looking for a light read/listen, this'll be good enough, but really, I don't think the character's are developed enough to carry the 4+ hours, short as they may be. Unpopular, maybe, but there you go. My two cents.
    Further, the performances are downright annoying. Maybe a daily deal or something? Just make sure you can tolerate the narration...

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Wayne
    Matthews, NC
    30/04/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "We all need at least one daughter"

    An Absent Mind is a fictionalized but honest story of Alzheimer's from time of diagnosis until death. I suspect that most of us over age 40 have had a family member with Alzheimer's or other dementia. In this story the 71 year old man diagnosed with dementia was married for 44 years at the time of diagnosis and he had an adult daughter and an adult son. His wife insisted on taking care of him at home for far too long and as a result she did not take care of herself. She died before he did. That happens far to often.

    I can state from personal experience with my parents (my mom had Alzheimer's) that the story is a typical one.

    My parents had only sons; at least the man in the story had a daughter. I dislike gender stereotyping, but daughters are much more likely to be there and help than sons. I'm thankful for our two wonderful daughters especially since my wife and I are senior citizens. (I'm thankful for our son, also!)

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Wendy Chamberlin
    Seattle, WA United States
    8/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cathartic"

    It took me two years to listen to this book as that is as long as it has been since my dad passed from Alzheimer's. I'm glad I waited until now as this brought up so many vivid memories, yet the ability to spend time looking at the experience from so many perspectives was helpful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • ShariAnna - Arizona
    Arizona, usa
    17/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Could have been depressing..."

    ...but it wasn't. it was educational on so many levels--informative about the disease and it's stages, the role of caregiver, family dynamics, and the truth that people do grow and change. The story was told from several perspectives, which I always love, otherwise I feel a bit talked down to. In addition to being educational, the book includes some hilarious stories! It's cool how these very flawed and believable characters make subtle and slow changes to become more compassionate people. Some parts are realistic enough to shock or draw tears, and that's life...that's family, that's being human.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Nicholas A. Crandall
    7/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Meh"

    Didn't love this, not terrible but nothing significant. Good emotional development but overall story wasn't that amazing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Cory SS
    Logan, UT
    21/04/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent representation of all of the perspectives and emotions that come with Alzheimer's"

    I really enjoyed this book! I thought it did a great job of showing different perspectives of all the people involved when one family member has a terminal illness. I also thought it was great how the author showed that people's reactions and understanding of each other can be mistaken. The way everyone in the family assumed Joey was a loser, just to find that Joey felt unloved and in the end, he's the one who cared for his dad's most beloved companion and cared for his mother. And I felt like the ending was perfect. It really seem true to life. This hit close to home for me because several members of my family are suffering from or have passed from Alzheimer's, and I am very terrified that my future holds the same.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • KSH
    Dearborn Heights, MI, US
    13/04/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Painful and Beautiful"

    I think that next to Fredrick Bachman's "A Man Called Ove" this book will always stay in my heart more than any other book(s) I have listened to. Alzheimer's is a devastating disease, and Eric Rill did an amazing job in showing the various points of view of both the patient and his family members. He even shows the mindset of the physician treating Saul.
    It was not difficult to understand the feelings that each character expressed. I identified with all of them which I guess isn't that unusual based on my family relations and dealing with the prolonged illnesses and deaths of both an ex-husband with whom I was still close and then my beloved husband.
    There are so many feelings that arise during a lengthy illness. It's often difficult to deal with those feelings, but the author was spot on with so many of them here.
    The narration was excellent...really excellent! Sandra Burr and Mel Foster "lived" their readings. I usually forgot that I was not listening to Saul and Monique and Florence and Joey. That, to me, is talent.
    I am so glad that this book was recommended to me in an email from Audible. I will listen to it again, and I highly recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • donna
    9/04/17
    Overall
    "Algiers is an awful disease for the person a their families!"

    Interesting and very sad story. Something I am not looking forward too! I have mild dementia.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Rosalyn Smith
    27/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I wasn't expecting this!"

    Wow, this truly hit home! My father died of Alzheimers in 2011. I will never forget the day my father didn't know me in 2009. How can a mind just turn on someone like that? This is such a devastating disease and one I pray a cure will be found soon!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Elizabeth
    5/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poignant telling"

    This book had a predictably sad ending, as there is only one possible outcome for an Alzheimer's sufferer. But it was told with humor and truth from the voices of those affected. I was slightly disappointed by the ending, as throughout we were hearing from the voices of the family. The stark contrast of the obituary was somehow not in keeping with the story, I would have preferred one last chapter from Florence or Joey. Overall I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Jillybuns
    21/02/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enlightening!"

    This was an easy book to read. I found the characters individual perspective very interesting. At times sad & touching but it does have some laugh out loud moments too!
    A helpful & informative book for anyone embarking on this sad journey without too much medical jargon!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.