We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Tier One Audiobook

Tier One

Regular Price:$14.07
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

People who bought this also bought...

Publisher's Summary

In a world violated by terror, the old lines have blurred. Meet the next generation of covert ops.

John Dempsey's life - as an elite Tier One Navy SEAL named Jack Kemper - is over. A devastating terrorist action catapults him from a world of moral certainty and decisive orders into the shadowy realm of espionage, where ambiguity is the only rule. His new mission: hunt down those responsible for the greatest tragedy in the history of the US Special Ops and bring them to justice.

But how does a man torn between duty and revenge walk the line and preserve his soul?

As Dempsey struggles with the games of spies, the case propels him across the globe in a desperate effort to prevent a new, horrifying attack on American soil.

Once, John Dempsey followed orders blindly. Now he sees behind the curtain, and the security of the civilized world rests on one question: Can a Tier One Navy SEAL adapt and become the world's most lethal spy?

©2016 Brian Andrews & Jeffrey Wilson (P)2016 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.3 (6 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.5 (6 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.3 (6 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    tim 19/09/2016
    tim 19/09/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "boring"

    boring boring boring boring boring boring boring boring oh and did i mention boring .

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • shelley
    Raleigh, NC
    11/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This One's a Keeper!!!"

    This is an excellent and believable mystery, thriller, terrorist, espionage book. There is tons of action throughout the entire story right from the very beginning. The protagonist Jack Kemper is a SEAL on a mission when his entire team is ambushed and slaughtered, he escapes with his life but is badly burned. Jack then joins another alphabet team and becomes John Dempsey, our hero on a mission of revenge for the team he lost. The rest of the book deals with his training, information gathering and how, loss of comrades and ultimately the shocking discovery of who was behind the initial ambush and why. For me the who and why was a shocker that was totally unpredictable but believable.
    One thing I did like about the way the authors wrote is in taking into consideration that not everyone has been in the military and doesn't always understand some of the specific meanings behind coded language the authors have Dempsey decoding in his head as the conversations take place.
    Ray Porter did an excellent job narrating.
    This book is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, I can only hope that a sequel is on the way! If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
    Thank You.

    79 of 81 people found this review helpful
  • Trudy Owens
    Orem, UT, US
    17/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "better than many in the genre!"

    Tier One is blacker than the CIA, blacker than Seal Team 6, Blacker than any other SpecOps groups. After the predictable beginning, you know, the loss of his entire Tier One team, Jack is given the opportunity to seek out those responsible. He is invited to join an even blacker group, but can this new team create cohesion? Can they trust each other to have their six? Will Jack be able to fit in and remain in the group, or will his hot-headedness and sense of right mean his being let go? Can he trust his own handlers?

    Even while this new team is delving into the past, and forging present relationships, current and future events take the team into new terrorist plots which they must unravel and take down before they can unfold.

    The story is chock-full of bad guys, surprises, plotting and counter plotting, turn-arounds, and very hard decisions. There are sad deaths to mourn, enemies to hate, and motives to question. And in the midst of this seriousness, there are even some very human chuckles.

    The characters are well-rounded, conversations believable, actions and responses credible. The writing is up there at the top of the game--it can join the best authors. And then with the impeccable Ray Porter narrating, you have a treat for your ears and mind.

    Definitely authors to keep track of, (Brian Andrews is the author of the Nick Foley series under the name Alex Ryan) and looks to be the start of a great new series.

    17 of 17 people found this review helpful
  • P Deiters
    4/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best Book this summer"

    I frequently get the free books offered by Amazon and then buy the audio. This book from the start was full of action. I loved everything about this book. I hope there are many more to come.

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful
  • Drew
    26/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pretty good for fans of John Wells and Mitch Rapp"
    Where does Tier One rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Gave this a try after reading the feedback here and was pretty happy with it. I am a spy/ mil fiction fan and have read tons in this genre going back to Ambler and Deighton. This is more grunt and less intrigue but still entertaining and well told and narrated. Compared to Rapp and Wells books, this needs a bit more editing and character dev. It most reminds me of the Dewey Andreas books but those are better I think. I care more about the characters mentioned above. Bit deeper maybe, not sure. Good first try and I would buy another.


    9 of 9 people found this review helpful
  • Cary
    Little Rock, AR, United States
    14/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well Done!"

    I enjoyed the book and it's characters.Ray Porter gave his usual outstanding performance. Look forward to the next in the series.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Nathan
    New Market, AL, United States
    11/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "excellent story very well done"

    the story is excellent from start to finish. There was only one point in the story that was a bit slow. But that transition worked itself out quickly. Very much enjoyed the narration, the character development and the overall storyline.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • john
    13/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome great great book"

    If you have been looking for a great book. This will no disappoint. Hopefully this is just duration many to come.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Lidvin
    16/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice surprise"

    Great reader. This was the first time we listened to this author and it was a great story. Negative the "F" word was used more than needed

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • kim
    9/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great!!!"

    I can't wait for the next book in the series! The book has you at the edge of your seat for the entire book.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • ScottG
    Dover, DE
    27/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great begining to a new series, I hope!"
    Any additional comments?

    I am not sure how I stumbled on this book, it may have been one of the daily emails from audible or a review I read, I just don't remember. What I can say with certainty is I am SO GLAD I grabbed it. I have never read this author before, and in honesty, I really should check to see if it is a series before saying that I hope this is the beginning of a series... we'll call it time crunch but it is more accurately me being lazy. Whatever, this is a great, fast action, hard hitting story without hand ringing and soul searching backstories and subplots.
    Ray Porter, who also reads the David Freed "Cordel Logan" series (another I truly recommend to the Action/Thriller genre fans) is the perfect choice of readers here. His unique voice and sarcastic inflection are precisely suited for action books and he has an amazing talent for giving a character life in your imagination without overpowering the authors story with his own interpretations. And, just for kicks, listen to the book first then Google "Ray Porter IMDB" and ask yourself if this is the guy you really envisioned.
    It's a great story of Special Ops hero turning into OGA - private contractor without the overused and tiresome "superhero" skills always ascribed by authors of this type novel. Well done, simple straight forward plot lines with enough twists and turns to keep the story moving ahead in a linear, fast action page turner.
    Very well done by both author and narrator.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.