We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Silent Wife Audiobook

The Silent Wife

Regular Price:$19.42
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A chilling psychological thriller portraying the disintegration of a relationship down to the deadliest point when murdering your husband suddenly makes perfect sense. A novel perfect for readers of Sophe Hannah, Nicci French, and Barbara Vine.

Todd Gilbert and Jodie Brett are in a bad place in their relationship. They've been together for 28 years, and with no children to worry about there has been little to disrupt their affluent Chicago lifestyle. But there has also been little to hold it together, and beneath the surface lie ever-widening cracks.

He is a committed cheater. She lives and breathes denial. He exists in dual worlds. She likes to settle scores. He decides to play for keeps. She has nothing left to lose. When it becomes clear that their precarious world could disintegrate at any moment, Jodie knows she stands to lose everything. It's only now she will discover just how much she's truly capable of....

©2013 A. S. A. Harrison (P)2013 Headline Digital

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.2 (5 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.2 (5 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.3 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Nicole Bond
    3/01/16
    Overall
    "Smart and Entertaining"

    Good novel. Well written and very cerebral, in terms of the psychological issues that are explored regarding infidelity, personality and the experiences in our pasts that invariably condition us to act out and make the sometimes dysfunctional decisions that we do as humans trying to find our way in life. You can't help but feel empathy for Jodi, and even Todd and the young immature homewrecker, Natasha. My attention was riveted the whole time. Well done A.S.A. Harrison. Kudos also to the narrator. Her voice and expressiveness helped the story to really come alive.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jane F. Clifton
    AUSTRALIA
    20/09/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gone Girl it ain't"
    Would you try another book from A. S. A. Harrison and/or Emily Pennant-Rea?

    No


    Has The Silent Wife turned you off from other books in this genre?

    Hard to tell what genre it is.... It's not Crime or Chick Lit. What genre is it?


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Emily Pennant-Rea?

    An American


    Any additional comments?

    It's a very boring book and I couldn't finish it. Kept waiting for something to HAPPEN! Maybe an American narrator would have brought it to life a bit more. It was so the wrong narrator for the job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • barbara
    Brookside, Australia
    24/08/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best narration ever ... and a fascinating story"

    I really enjoyed this book. The narration was perfect - inflections, accents, pronunciation, etc. The concept is that the main characters do not relate to each other in the usual way of a long term couple. It was intriguing and puzzling, and switched between the couple and the husband and mistress smoothly. It flowed well and the language created atmospheres very well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Merlyn
    Bangalore, India
    4/02/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Smooth"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Silent Wife to be better than the print version?

    I usually stick to one format only - with so many titles waiting to be read/heard and the paucity of time - audio is a best bet.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The protagonist - she is cool and self-composed - with strength of feeling which she manages to conceal almost stoically


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • M
    Luton, United Kingdom
    28/08/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A real find!"

    This is the first book I have listened to by this author. It was a real find. Very accomplished writing; believable characters and a very big surprise at the end. Who could ask for more? Having been, quite frankly, disappointed with the offerings from some of the more well known authors, this was a real treat. I am a fan!

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Sharon Frater
    Cheshire England
    25/09/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad....but !"
    Any additional comments?

    For me this was spoiled by the performance. Why an English person with a very posh voice who you can hear swallowing should be reading a book set in America and trying to put on an American accent...didn't do it for me I'm afraid. If you get over the voice the story is quite good but I won't be rushing to buy more from this author. Neither will I be listening to this performer again in a hurry. She would be more suited to a certain type of book requiring a clipped English accent.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Helen
    WATERLOOVILLE, United Kingdom
    9/03/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really enjoyable"
    Where does The Silent Wife rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I really enjoyed this audio book. It kept me wanting to jump back into my car & drive for longer to hear more of the story (I listen to books whilst driving). It isn't the best I've heard so far, but certainly up near the top.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Silent Wife?

    I really liked the way the chapters alternated between 'Her' & 'Him' - progressing the story from both the main characters viewpoints.


    What about Emily Pennant-Rea’s performance did you like?

    I really liked Emily's voice. Her speech was clear and easy to understand.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Actions speak louder than words


    Any additional comments?

    A really enjoyable book.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • DesignerL
    East Anglia
    24/06/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful American accent"

    Why on earth use an English woman with such an awful American accent? Lovely normal voice but doing the accent just made me cringe. Ended up irritating me so much it took away from the story, which wasn't great to start with.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Mark
    Richmond, United Kingdom
    9/10/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable but nothing to shout about."

    This starts and continues to be interesting and pleasant enough to keep going but I'm not sure of the ultimate point of it. It's like a beautiful roast dinner with the meat removed.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • mulguygran
    3/05/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Different ."

    Enjoyed the book. Different from what I normally listen too. Liked the twist at the end.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • ron
    21/03/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A thoughtful read."

    There is a good momentum to this book that maintains interest throughout. There is both moral and narrative ambiguity in the plot and the resolution that is strangely satisfying. I would definitely recommend it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Gerraldine
    28/11/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Complex characters and beautifully read"

    What was going on in the minds of the two main characters had me hooked from the start. Story shows how a seemingly ordinary life can get completely out of control. Great listen

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Kora
    14/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fun read to follow along with."

    The book overall was well written and easy to follow along with. I did however struggle with the narrator, as the characters were all American and the narrator was not. It was harsh to get used to at first with a British accent at first for narration then slipping into bad American accents for the character voices. by chapter 5, I'd allowed myself to overlook this to enjoy the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    28/06/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "👍8/10 🖖 (don't expect fireworks on page one!)"

    the story = no spoilers - for a while I thought this was a true crime novel. I had to Google it to see? This for me meant that the characters were fleshed out and realistic, both dramatic and mundane.
    The story was good and I liked the slow, detail filled pace. if you are a lover of a book that gets you on page one, this might not be completely your thing.
    I liked that it could easily have been adapted into a play with just one main cast member.... I think it would be quite entertaining as a play rather than a movie etc..
    Narrator = utterly fabulous. I find narrators make or break books for me (see Game of Thrones 😔 as exhibit A). But this was narrated with good clear pronunciation and just the few 'light' accents for the different players... I'll be looking for more of her work. Finty Williams is one of my favourite readers and Emily had touches of her in this reading.

    Overall = Never going to win the sexiest, quickest, most dramatic, heart thumping novel... but being blind someone who listens to Audible everyday this is one I would recommend, just don't expect earth scorching speed and relax into it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.