We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Loving Husband Audiobook

The Loving Husband

Regular Price:$35.08
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Apple Tree Yard and The Silent Wife, The Loving Husband draws readers into a marriage where nothing is as it seems....

Fran Hall and her husband Nathan have moved with their two children to a farmhouse on the edge of the Fens - a chance to get away from London and have a fresh start.

But when Fran wakes one night to find Nathan gone, she makes a devastating discovery. As questions about her husband and her relationships start to mount, Fran's life begins to spiral out of control.

What is she hiding from the police about her marriage, and does she really know the man she shared her bed with?

The Loving Husband is read by Clare Corbett, the acclaimed narrator of The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

A Richard & Judy Book Club pick.

©2015 Christobel Kent (P)2016 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"Beware sleep deprivation. Christobel Kent is one mesmerising writer." (Alex Marwood)

"Sinister...Christobel Kent always writes with skill and elegance." (Literary Review)

"Wow. This one will keep your bedside light on until the small hours - it's unputdownable." (Richard & Judy)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (14 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.9 (13 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.3 (13 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jane Syd 07/05/2016
    Jane Syd 07/05/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not sure what to make of it"

    The book has all the right ingredients of the great mystery "who's done it" type story: emotionally damaged main character, "evil" husband, turns and twists of the plot, eerie little cottage house in the middle of nowhere. But. The story just wasn't flowing for me, it felt dragged, the ending although wasn't very predictable seemed far fetched. Clare Corbett saved the story for me and I managed to listened to it to the end.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Evalin 04/05/2016
    Evalin 04/05/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Difficult to keep track"

    It was like two books in one and hard to keep track...it flips between the past and present without any breaks which made it hard to engage in the story. This was my first audible which I stuggled to finish and stopped at 30%. Hard to engage in any of the characters...

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lee Sydney Australia 12/09/2016
    Lee Sydney Australia 12/09/2016 Member Since 2016

    Mother of two boys, love listening to my audible books in the car on the way to work.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intriguing and interesting till the very end"

    I listened to this book every opportunity I had. Narrated brilliantly, love the English references and a great read.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elham 20/05/2016
    Elham 20/05/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boring. Confusing"

    She jumps from one time or event to another in a confusing way.. The narrator is not very exciting either..

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • MareG
    Kilmarnock, UK
    10/04/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant story and narration"

    I loved this story, kept me up late at night and couldn't wait to get back to it. Finished it in 2 days. Narration was brilliant too.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Janet
    LIVERPOOL, United Kingdom
    6/05/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Was so excited waiting for this one!"

    Sadly a little disappointed, the plot sounded like this book was right up my street, it did take me a couple of attempts to really get into this book, I was determined I wasn't going to give up. I did enjoy the book, a couple of things in the plot didn't ring true to me, won't spoil it for you though. But yes I did enjoy it, however the ending was a little disappointing. This book didn't leave me sat in the drive outside the house in the car, desperate to hear the next twist or turn, unlike many others I have listened to recently, Overall just a shame it didn't live up to my expectations.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Joan Callaghan
    Lancashire
    26/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Really Captivating Audio Book"

    A gripping story with lots of intrigue and weaving. It is amongst the books that I was really sorry to finish. Narrated brilliantly too. I look forward to reading more from this Author.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Jessica
    Manchester
    24/04/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as good as expected"

    Story jumped around a lot. Overall it seemed to plod along and not really go anywhere. Ending was poor.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Caroline
    13/04/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "All over the place"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Nothing


    Would you ever listen to anything by Christobel Kent again?

    probably not


    You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Not really. Over complicated. None of the characters were believable and very unsatisfactory conclusion.


    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • vikkietwr
    30/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing book"

    Not what I expected at all, but once I started I was totally hooked! Not to be missed

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Marian
    Ireland
    24/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "well worth the time"

    Really enjoyed this book. full of suspense puzzle and surprises. Lovely to be glued to a book that's not predictable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    6/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant!"

    Kept my attention until the very end - a rarity! Audio narration good but why oh why so many 'poplaaaars'!?!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Paul+Catherine
    United Kingdom
    23/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rubbish"

    Another story of a weak woman who can't string a sentence together. Was hoping this book would get better so stuck with it to the end, sadly no.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • A.Connor
    27/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "the most laborious audible 'read' I have had.."

    This for me unfortunately, felt endless.
    'breathless edgy staccato narration & a couple of ludicrously stereotyped characters made this one I had to stop before the end; I've no idea how this tale completes but heyho.
    The writer clearly has talent with language but the plot..!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.