We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Everyone Lies Audiobook

Everyone Lies: DI Kate Simms, Book 1

Regular Price:$33.81
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In Everyone Lies by A. D. Garrett, DCI Kate Simms is on the fast track to nowhere. Five years ago she helped a colleague when she shouldn't have, and she's been clawing her way back from a demotion ever since.

Professor Nick Fennimore is a successful gambler, crime scene officer, chemistry graduate, toxicology specialist and onetime scientific advisor to the National Crime Faculty. He is the best there is, but ever since his wife and daughter disappeared he's been hiding away in Scotland, working as a forensics lecturer.

In Manchester, drug addicts are turning up dead, and Simms' superior is only too pleased to hand the problem to her. Then a celebrity dies, and the media gets interested. Another overdose victim shows up, but this time the woman has been systematically beaten beyond identification. The evidence doesn't add up; Simms' superiors seem to be obstructing her investigation; everyone lies; and the one person she can't afford to associate with is the one man who can help: Fennimore.

A. D. Garrett is the pseudonym for the writing collaboration of prize-winning thriller writer Margaret Murphy and forensic scientist Professor Dave Barclay. Margaret Murphy is the author of nine psychological thrillers. She lectures on writing and is a former Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow. Professor Barclay is a world-renowned forensics expert and senior lecturer in forensic science at Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen. Everyone Lies is their first collaboration.

©2013 A. D. Garrett (P)2015 Audible, Ltd

What the Critics Say

"A pulse pounding thriller, which weaves expertly between evil on the streets and the dark side of police department politics.... Simms and Fennimore are complex, compelling, and just plain marvelous." (Jeffery Deaver)
"This is thriller writing at its best: prose that's startling in its pace and clarity, characters who come to life immediately and the bonus of knowing that all the forensic details are entirely accurate." (Ann Cleeves)
"Awesome.... What A. D. Garrett doesn't understand about forensic science and its applications isn't worth knowing. Ditto characterisation, plot and pace. A sterling debut." (Mo Hayder)
"Brilliantly melds a deep knowledge of forensic procedures with a riveting story. The subtle twists in Everyone Lies kept me guessing until the end. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell are going to love this book!" (D. J. McIntosh, best-selling author of The Witch of Babylon)
"Outstanding.... Garrett balances the intricacies of forensics with the cerebral instincts of crime investigation." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Simon
    Waterlooville, UK
    3/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stuttering Start, Gripping Finale!"

    This opening book shows much promise for the series going forwards. For me the early parts of the book didn’t work as well as the second half though. There was what felt like a slightly incongruous mix of some very hard action scenes, character development and some detailed explanations of forensic techniques which lead to an uneven pace. The descriptions of advanced DNA techniques in particular did seem to have been inserted to demonstrate knowledge rather than add to the plot. This is probably a reflection of the fact that A D Garret is actually a pseudonym for the joint authors: novelist, Margaret Murphy, and forensic scientist, Dave Barclay.

    Up until about half way through I was thinking that while the book was developing reasonably the uneven pace was going to taint it. However, after that the authors seemed to move up another gear and the story and characters developed into what I thought was an excellent finale. By this point the forensic science was still in evidence but it was very much in step with the story adding detail and plot depth rather than slowing events down for occasional lectures.

    The narration by Lucy Price-Lewis impressed me. This is a book with a large variety of characters including some rather macho and nasty males and interesting regional accents so a tough gig. She built the tension and the excitement adeptly up to the conclusion.

    All in all a good read, I do feel some of the earlier parts could have done with some stricter editing, not a great deal, but definitely some. What this volume does show is that when Murphy and Barclay get it right they deliver finely detailed plots based on expert knowledge that rival most in the genre in terms of excitement and tension.

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful
  • Jo
    21/02/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful"

    Parts were very unbelievable and I found myself muttering 'for gods sake' more than once and 'ridiculous !!
    There was an awful lot of very graphic violence which I thought was there more for the shock value than the story line.
    I did not enjoy the narration, none of the accents rang true, wimpy women and posh boy voices that sounded too forced, and awful northern accents.
    All in all an awful story made worse by the narrater

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    LONDON, United Kingdom
    24/04/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Everyone Lies"

    A new author (or pair of author's) with an interesting new detective to read.
    This first book sets out the main characters and gives glimpses into a rich back story. Will these be developed in future books?
    Worth a listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Cathryn B.
    18/04/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very good in parts"

    Interesting story but I felt it didn't flow. Parts of the book where very good but I guessed the ending around half way through. It was an ok read but wouldn't rush to find the follow up.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.