We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Child 44 Audiobook

Child 44

Regular Price:$35.36
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Now a major movie, directed by Daniel Espinosa and starring Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace, and Gary Oldman.

For fans of Robert Harris, John Le Carre, and Martin Cruz Smith comes a gripping thriller set in Moscow, 1953. Under Stalin's terrifying regime families live in fear. When the all-powerful State claims there is no such thing as crime, who dares disagree?

An ambitious secret police officer, Leo Demidov has spent his career arresting anyone who steps out of line. Suddenly his world is turned upside down when he uncovers evidence of a killer at large. Now, with only his wife at his side, Leo must risk both their lives to save the lives of others.

Inspired by a real-life investigation, Child 44 is a relentless story of love, hope and bravery in a totalitarian world. It is a thriller unlike any you have ever read.

©2008 Tom Rob Smith; (P)2008 Simon & Schuster Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Caroline
    15/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "was disappointed"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Not really sure. Was disappointed with ending to the story, but not sure whether this was in part to listening to the abridged version - I have never read an abridged version before so I'm not sure how much of the story is 'lost'...


    What was most disappointing about Tom Rob Smith’s story?

    The ending.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    I didn't particularly like the narrator. I know he was giving a 'Russian' performance but I found it at bit monotonous.


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Child 44?

    I think it possibly was already cut too much!


    Any additional comments?

    Again, not sure how much of my disappointment with the story was down to listening to the abrdiged version.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.