We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Quarterdeck Audiobook

Quarterdeck

Regular Price:$29.76
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Thomas Kydd was promoted to acting lieutenant at the bloody Battle of Camperdown in October 1797. Now he must sit an exam to confirm his rank or face an inglorious return before the mast.

©2004 Julian Stockwin (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (3 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (3 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (3 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Charles Wilson
    San Juan Capistrano, CA, USA
    26/03/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very fun book"

    Pure entertainment with a little history thrown in by a talented writer! In the tradition of Obrien and Forester - he tells some fun tales that make us root for Tom Kidd!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Michael
    Athens, AL, USA
    1/09/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Hero Advances"

    I like the stories of Kydd's continuing climb. Entertaining, and with the right narrator. Rodska is excellent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • James
    Gilbert, AZ, United States
    6/05/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrific"

    I enjoyed details and surprises and much history connections to British and American events places persons times subjects habits food

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Simon
    Waterlooville, UK
    18/01/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well worth a read but more sedate . . ."

    I'm becoming a real fan of this series but this book marks a change of pace for Kydd and Renzi. Moving up to the lofty heights of the Quarterdeck they are now faced with a myriad challenges of a different nature. I think that it's a positive that the author decided to spend time on this difficult transition for Kydd but it does result in less of the action that is so integral to the other books. My only criticism would be that it seemed to be largely a series of encounters in which Kydd proves that he doesn't match the initial impressions of others. It remains however an enjoyable read and still shows just how excellent the author's knowledge of his subject is. On top of that the narration from Christian Rodska maintains his now customary excellent standards.

    So, in summary, a satisfying read, I'll continue with the series but simply a bit less exciting than the others.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Lance
    Canterbury, United Kingdom
    11/08/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great listen"
    Where does Quarterdeck rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I am gradually working through the Kidd series. This one is more of Kidd's problems before being elevated to officer status. Never the less it is a very good listen.


    Have you listened to any of Christian Rodska’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    I have listened to many of Christian Rodska's narrations and this is by far the best yet. All his characters are quite different, even the different American characters.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.